Taking the Next Step in Safe Drone Operations

FAA Safety Briefing
Cleared for Takeoff
4 min readDec 29, 2020

--

by Mike O’Shea, FAA UAS Integration Office Public Safety Liaison

So you got a drone over the holidays, or perhaps you ‘gifted’ one to yourself. Now what? You clicked on the FAA’s DroneZone to register your new aircraft. (Note: registration is not required for drones that weigh .55 lbs or less and are flown under Section 44809 — Recreational Flyers.) With the registration in hand, you ordered registration numbers to dress up your drone per the FAA’s guidelines.

How to register your drone infographic. Follow the link for further instructions.

Because you’ve done your research, you knew you had to take the part 107 remote pilot knowledge test to receive your remote pilot certificate. Or, if you’re a recreational flyer and you’re following the safety guidelines, you’re already planning for the upcoming safety test. Next, you downloaded the B4UFly App to make sure you are always aware of any airspace restrictions. With your drone batteries charged and software updated, it’s time to take to the sky and fly!

Or is it? The steps listed above do help make you knowledgeable about airspace safety and compliant with FAA rules, but they don’t make you proficient with your specific drone. The FAA does not require a flight proficiency test due to obtain a Remote Pilot certificate. So, is flight proficiency important? Many small drones on the consumer market can be flown right out of the box. But you still need to make the correct inputs and, for successful flight operations (and to avoid damaging your shiny new drone), you need to be knowledgeable about their specific flight modes.

So what do you have to do to become proficient? When I get a new drone, the first thing I do is read everything about it to make sure that I understand the controls and the operational limitations. I familiarize myself with the remote controller before I even turn the drone on. Next, I make my initial flights in good weather and light winds, and I always check the B4UFly app for airspace restrictions. I launch the drone to about 15 feet high, and practice some simple maneuvers. I move the drone left and right; spin it in place to the left and right; fly forward, fly backward, and fly side to side. I fly the drone as if I were piloting from inside the aircraft, with the front of the drone always pointed away from me, so as not to confuse its directional orientation. The only time I fly with the drone facing me is when I take “dronie” shots of me or my boat.

A “dronie” shot of the author on his boat.

Before I perform any complex drone operation, I conduct drone flights in different environmental conditions and locations. These flights increase my knowledge and skillset as I become more familiar with my specific drone and its/my capabilities. As I become more proficient, I carefully expand my flights to more complex scenarios, such as flying at night.

Flying a drone for fun or for a business requires compliance with FAA regulations/guidance and proficiency to fly safely in the National Airspace System. Each drone is unique, and the FAA expects you to be proficient in its operation based on the complexity of the operation. If you only plan to fly 15 feet above your backyard in perfect weather conditions, you most likely can accomplish these flights safely with a lower level of proficiency. But if you want to leave the backyard, start practicing!

Mike O’Shea works with government agencies as a resource on public unmanned aircraft operations and has more than 30 years of experience working in public safety. Let Mike know what you have done to become more proficient in the use of your drone at michael.oshea@faa.gov.

This article was originally published in the January/February 2021 issue of FAA Safety Briefing magazine. https://www.faa.gov/news/safety_briefing/

--

--

FAA Safety Briefing
Cleared for Takeoff

Official FAA safety policy voice for general aviation. The magazine is part of the national FAA Safety Team (FAASTeam).