The Cutting Edge of Aerospace Engineering

In this interview, FAA aerospace engineer Andrew Sit recounts how he got involved in the aviation field and how the FAA keeps up with new technology.

Federal Aviation Administration
Cleared for Takeoff
3 min readFeb 24, 2021

--

Andrew Sit in Glacier National Park. (Photo provided by Andrew Sit)

What initially interested you in the aerospace field? What was your first aerospace engineering experience?

I grew up flying a lot to family vacations, and I always loved staring out the window seat watching the world pass by. But, I think I was always more intrigued by the wing flexing through turbulence and the precise flight control movements that made us turn so smoothly.

I would say my first aerospace engineering experience was designing a long-range blended wing body aircraft in my senior design course at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute. My team and I went through the entire design process from an initial drawing concept to calculating flight characteristics and sizing the wing structure to support the aerodynamic loads. This really taught me the value of good teamwork, and we ended up winning the award for the best senior design project!

What’s your favorite part about your engineering work here at the FAA?

The coolest thing about my job is getting to interact with manufacturers and seeing some of the new products or manufacturing techniques they are working on. Last year I was able to help out with an experimental airworthiness certificate which was also really cool.

But my favorite part of being an engineer at the FAA is that the work we do affects millions of people around the world every day, from helping passengers get to their destinations safely and providing jobs with airports, airlines, and the aviation industry. Even for people who don’t fly, cargo flights are an integral part of our everyday life.

Andrew Sit

From your perspective, what are some of the exciting developments in the aerospace engineering field since you first began your career?

I have been able to help with some new technology projects, such as additive manufacturing (3D printing). In the future, this will hopefully decrease manufacturing time, improve reliability, and lead to new part designs and manufacturing techniques.

What advice would you give to an engineering student today?

I would encourage current students to find activities outside of their studies to apply or enhance their knowledge in their given field. I joined my school’s flying club, where I learned a lot more about aviation and made some great friends. Being able to fly around Upstate New York was pretty cool, too.

What are some of the future career avenues at the FAA you foresee for individuals with aerospace engineering degrees?

We are starting to see exciting growth in commercial supersonic flight and space flight. Unmanned aircraft systems have also made large growth recently for recreational drone use or even package deliveries. It will be important for aerospace engineers to safely integrate these new aircraft into our airspace.

--

--

Federal Aviation Administration
Cleared for Takeoff

Welcome to the official Medium account of the FAA. Following, mention or comment does not mean endorsement. Have a question, we’ll answer it!