Trying to become fluent in another language

Fabio Blanco
Fabio’s Random Thoughts
3 min readMar 17, 2022
Foto de Rodolfo Clix no Pexels

At the beginning of every journey there are always many paths to be chosen as it is usually possible to get to the same place by following different directions. However not every direction will represent the best decision as some directions can get us out of the way making us waste time, although any direction will bring us some experience that can contribute to achieving a broader view of the whole picture.

I’m in a journey of learning another language. As a Brazilian my native language is Portuguese and I’m trying to become fluent in English. But I have started learning this new language a long time ago although I was not that committed to becoming really fluent at that time.

I’ve started learning English in my youth but at the time I was at the college I began to use it more, mainly because many of the texts and books from the curriculum of the course was available only in English and therefore I had to force myself. From that time onward I have started to read more in English and thus my understanding of the readings improved but I was still not fluent.

Recently some opportunities has opened my eyes to the fact that I was missing something by not been fluent yet, and that started an urgency feeling that made the English leaning take a major place among my goals.

In order to achieve this fluency goal I’ve started searching for resources and thus I came to a very nice TED talk from Chris Lonsdale about how to learn any language in six months and another nice TED talk from Gabriel Wyner about Why We Struggle Learning Languages. And by watching those TED talks and thinking about them I’ve came to my own conclusions.

If I want to become fluent in a language I need first to imerse myself in that language by trying the harder that I can to use that language daily, by reading a lot in that language and by listening a lot in that language, but by doing this the subjects of the readings and the listening should be something that actually interests me, that are in some way meaningful to me.

And secondly I have to take the risk. Take the risk to speak and to make mistakes without the fear of making mistakes because no one is perfect and therefore everyone can fail sometimes. Take the risk to write without the fear of making mistakes. And just do it.

The immersion is necessary because it will allow me to get used to the common language constructions and to keep my memory activated by repeatedly making contact with those constructions and with the words.

As a child we learn our native language by been immersed in that language speaking environment. And the idea is to mimic it a little. I know though that it is not possible to be 100% immersed in a language that we are learning if we are not living in the country where this language is spoken but we can at least increase that immersion by trying to be exposed to the language the more we can.

Finding resources about things that we like or need that are written or spoken in that language that we want to learn is one of the things that enhance our immersion in that language. Trying to watch news, lectures and videos that are in that language is important.

Try to speak with natives is also very important and it can be done by using an app for exchanging languages like HelloTalk, or in a forum or even a chat room at ClubHouse. It is also useful to practice by speaking with other non native speakers that are also trying to learn or improve.

I will try to practice this way the more I can every day until I feel that I’m already fluent. Let’s see how long it will take.

--

--

Fabio Blanco
Fabio’s Random Thoughts

I’m a software engineer, musician, woodworker and casual writer.