Why Winning Depends on Who’s in Your Corner

A Lesson in Employee Engagement, Productivity and Motivation

Rosalynn Verges
Threads by Fabric
3 min readMay 18, 2018

--

How do we motivate and engage employees? I hear the question a lot — especially from leaders wondering how to improve employee retention or productivity.

image source

And while the answer may be different for each company, there are a few things I’ve noticed make a BIG difference — all of which start with who’s in my corner.

Thinking back on my own work history, my feelings of motivation, productivity and engagement depended on whether I felt my boss was “in my corner.” I’ve always worked harder for people I knew had my back.

Employees don’t CHOOSE to feel unmotivated or disengaged at work.

I take pride in my work ethic. I’m not one to intentionally do less just because I don’t like someone. So, in the times I have felt unmotivated at work, it’s been unsettling for me. No one wants to feel disengaged at work, so addressing employee engagement isn’t just about finding the people with “the right attitude.” Even the best employees need to know you’re rooting for them.

The same has been true in my sports life. As a college softball player, I noticed the higher up in the line-up I was, the better I hit. I felt confident. As a result, I would almost always deliver. But bat me seventh and it got in my head — all of a sudden I’d swing at pitches I knew were junk and I’d feel discouraged.

I perform my best when I know the people leading me BELIEVE IN ME.

So, how do you help employees see that you’re in their corner?

Here’s what that’s looked like for me:

1. They gave me their time.

Setting boundaries around your time is an extremely important part of your role as a leader. However, employees who feel you are too busy for them will feel you’re not backing them. Schedule meetings with your employees so they get your undivided attention. That means when you are meeting with an employee, eliminate other distractions (like phone or email) and interruptions so you can truly LISTEN to them.

2. They knew the names of the people who were important to me.

Take the time to connect with people on a personal level. No matter how different your lives may seem, people almost always have SOMETHING in common. I challenge you to find out what that is with each of your employees.

3. They held me accountable but did not hold my mistakes against me.

We’ve previously discussed Leader Accountability and I cannot stress enough how important grace is to the relationship you have with your employees. Not only will it help them own their mistakes, it will encourage their autonomy.

4. They trusted me, valued my opinion and looked to me for feedback.

It’s a powerful thing to be asked, “What do you think?” Giving your employees a chance to share their ideas shows them you are interested in them and what they have to say. It sends the message that they are valued and you feel they have something to offer.

The best leaders I’ve worked for understood my needs as a human being and made me feel like a valued member of their team. If you want to see your employees excited and passionate about working for you, make sure your actions demonstrate that you’re in their corner.

Want more insights about leadership and creating a great workplace culture? Subscribe to our newsletter: http://bit.ly/FabricNewsletter.

--

--

Rosalynn Verges
Threads by Fabric

Wife, mother and CEO/Co-founder of @befabric who deeply values human connection, self-discovery and helping others define who they are and what they stand for.