Character Building

Gregory A. Kompes
Fabulist Flash
Published in
3 min readNov 1, 2020

Flash Fiction

Photo by Olena Sergienko on Unsplash

Henry kicked off his shoes at the door. “I didn’t see him,” he said.

“How could you not have?” Peter shoved the door closed, A fat golden retriever jumped up at him. “Down Max,” he said. “Come on.” He walked through the house to the sliding glass door and shoved it open so the dog could go outside. “I just don’t — ”

“Really, Peter, I’m telling you, I didn’t see him.”

“Well, he couldn’t keep his eyes off you,” said Peter.

“And, that’s my fault? I’m a good looking guy.” He laughed. The dog came back into the house and accosted Henry, jumping up and licking him.

Peter huffed into a chair. “He was tall, like a bean pole. Athletic looking. Probably a runner.”

“Sounds good.”

“Now you’re interested.”

“Well, I don’t know that I’d be interested in a troll or a slob or some old guy. I’ve got one of those already.” Henry focused on his husband, but received no reaction from him.

Peter took the cup of tea Henry offered. “He wore an orange and black sweatshirt with a Nevada State College logo. Maybe he’s one of your students.”

“I would have noticed one of my students in a gay bar,” said Henry. He blew across the top of his tea cup, enjoying the hint of lavender.

“So, your new love interest — ”

“Really Peter.”

“…is a student at your college, he’s a runner, probably a philosphy major or something geeky. He had glasses and a cheap haircut.”

Max edged up into the chair until half of him covered Henry’s lap. Henry rubbed the dog’s ears with one hand, balancing his tea cup with the other.

“And, he couldn’t take his eyes off you all night. He was practically drooling at the sight of you.”

“Is that such a bad thing? A handsome young man finds me interesting. It’s rather sweet.”

“Young enough to be your son.”

“Eww,” said Henry.

“He was there…again; staring at you. Again,” said Peter as he let the dog out.

Henry put two mugs of water into the microwave and unwrapped two tea bags. “It’s not like I invited him.”

“Max, come on. Pee already. It’s cold,” said Peter into the dark yard. “But, you at least saw him this time.”

“How could I not. You poked me and pointed. Totally embarrassed the kid.” The microwave beeped. Henry dunked the tea bags into the hot mugs. “You’re right though. He could be my son. Nearly the same height. Same build as when I was young. Remember?”

“About time,” Peter said to the dog and closed the door once Max came back into the house. “You’re gay, you couldn’t have a son.”

“There was that one time. With that girl, Lucy. I told you about that. My exploratory phase.” He handed a cup to Peter who nodded. “If there’s been a child, he’d be about that age now. Wouldn’t that be something? A son who’s athletic, geeky smart, and gay.”

Peter tossed a treat to the dog. “Or, it could be creepy, like something out of a Greek tragedy. He kills me to sleep with you, only to discover you’re his father.”

--

--

Gregory A. Kompes
Fabulist Flash

Gregory A. Kompes (MFA, MS Ed.) writes queer fiction, flash fiction, nonfiction, and poetry & teaches writing. @GregoryAKompes Become a VIP reader at Kompes.com