Victoria Opene
Facebook Developer Circle: Benin
5 min readAug 20, 2019

--

THE FACEBOOK DEVELOPER CIRCLE LAUNCH IN BENIN CITY, EDO STATE NIGERIA.

†What is Facebook developer circles all about?†

Developer Circles is a community-driven program that’s free to join and open to any developer. Each Developer Circle is led by members of the local community who act as leads for the circle, organizing events offline and managing a local online Facebook community. Developer Circles are forums to share knowledge, collaborate, build new ideas, and learn about the latest technologies from Facebook and other industry leaders. Whether a member of a circle is a student learning how to code, a developer looking to turn an idea into a reality, or an experienced coder searching for the latest Facebook product and open source tool updates, Developer Circles empowers a diverse range of technical talent to improve their skills and access the information they need.

†How did the developer circles get to Benin City?†

About 5 months ago(23rd and 24th of March 2019), I took part in the Facebook hackathon for justice held in Lagos State ,Nigeria.

My team in the facebook hacakathon for justice

It was a competition that brought together student developers within Nigeria to come together to solve a problem relating to the rule of law. It was an awesome experience for me because it gave me the opportunity to be creative and I met a lot of amazing people and top people in technology which motivated me a whole lot. Among the people I met that day was Chimdindu Aneke . I remember that day he came to take a look at the project my team and I were working on and he mentioned he was trying to bring Facebook developer circles to Benin City. I didn’t really know what that was about. When I got back to Benin City, I started thinking of it and did my research and I was really motivated and wanted to be part of building a community . I reached out to him and I was asked to apply to be a lead. It was over 3 months and no replies yet.I almost gave up until one day, I received an email from Chimdindu Aneke congratulating me and two other persons that we have been selected as a Facebook developer circles lead in Benin city. We were super excited and honoured to have been given the opportunity to lead the circle.

The Facebook developer circles leads are Asemota Izoduwa Precious, Opene Victoria and maduifeanyi. They have been really amazing!

Facebook developer circle leads in Benin City

*WHAT THE LEADS PLAN FOR THE CIRCLE?*

Our plan is to grow the community and make a difference. We plan to build amazing technologies. One thing you have to know is that this circle is not just for people who code but also entrepreneurs, digital marketers etc. A person who has built amazing technology and doesn’t know how to make it known to the world is like a wasted talent so we want to change all that.

*WHAT IS MY PLAN AS THE ONLY FEMALE LEAD IN BENIN CITY?*

I have noticed that few women actually show interest in tech. I don’t know why but I will love to change that. The funny thing is that a lot of tech companies are looking for women who code and these women are like hot cakes in the market. So I will like to find out why and engage them. I will love to see amazing women who are building awesome technology in the future. Just the same way I hoping for greater things for the females so also I am having the males in mind. I believe together we can make a difference!

THE LAUNCH:

It was indeed a wonderful turn out for the first event held and now isn’t the time to sit down and rest but to work together as a team in other to achieve great things in the future.

More pictures of the event:

Some of our Ladies who won shirts from answering questions:

Some of our guys who won shirts from answering questions:

Then Some of our members who are taking part in the devC with andela challenge

DevCwithandela participants

I will also like to specially thank Emmanuel Odianosen he has been really supportive

Thanks for your support Odianosen

Shout out to an amazing friend and my team mate in tech also who has been of help to me Rita Okonkwo

Thanks for being an amazing friend Rita

Thanks for reading.

--

--

Victoria Opene
Facebook Developer Circle: Benin

Founder - BuildWithVee | Technical Project, Product and Business Analyst