Stories from Michigan

Facing Addiction
FacingAddiction
Published in
2 min readJun 22, 2016
Created by Ted Grajeda from Noun Project

Now’s your chance to let Congress know you’re passionate about CARA!

Both the Senate and House have passed versions of the Comprehensive Addiction and Recovery Act. Conferees from both bodies are currently meeting in what’s known as “conference” to finalize one bill that will go to the President’s desk for signature and passage into law.

It’s critically important that the conferees hear from you as soon as possible! These policy leaders must understand how important a comprehensive addiction response is in their home state.

Share a link to this story (or tweet your own!) with Chairman Rep. Fred Upton (Michigan) on Twitter: @RepFredUpton or Rep. John Conyers, Jr. (D-MI), Ranking Member, Judiciary Committee, @RepJohnConyers. If you’re not on Twitter, share your story with us here.

Our 21-year-old son has been struggling with opioid addiction for years. Once a young man with bright future, he’s a college drop out now, barely coping with life. Please help these young people in getting back their future.
-Shkeela | West Bloomfield, MI

I worked 15 yrs at the Michigan House of Representatives with now Congressmen Huizenga, Bishop and Moolenaar. I lead Huizengas race for Speaker of the State House and worked for Bishop in the Senate Republican Campaign Committee. Needless to say I have a fairly intimate relationship with them, particularly Bill Huizenga. Now, I work at Brighton Center for Recovery since coming to terms with the fact I am an alcoholic and addict. I work at the men’s halfway house for the counseling department. I can speak first hand of the importance of treating addiction as a public health rather than penal issue. Thankfully I had health insurance that would cover inpatient and transitional housing treatment as well as psychriatric care.

My initial attempts at sobering galled but as I continued to learn and become willing to make the changes that needed to be made I have been able to remain clean and sober for over 2 1/2 years. The time taken to educate me as well as keep me in a safe housing environment was instrumental in my being able to adjust to a new way of life. Assuredly, I can testify to you, if my care had not been covered by my insurance, there would have been no way for me to afford the costs associated with the needed care. Now, I am helping to treat others with the affliction of addiction which helps me to stay sober for my 3-year-old daughter and spread the message of hope and encouragement to those who are patients at Brighton Center for Recovery. Please support the CARA bill to include funding for long-term transitional housing treatment and psychiatric care. Thank you for your time and service. -Dale Hull | Brighton, MI

--

--

Facing Addiction
FacingAddiction

Facing Addiction is a national non-profit organization dedicated to finding solutions to the addiction crisis by unifying the voice of over 45 million Americans