Stories from Oregon

Facing Addiction
FacingAddiction
Published in
6 min readJun 22, 2016
Created by Ted Grajeda from Noun Project

Now’s your chance to let Congress know you’re passionate about CARA!

Both the Senate and House have passed versions of the Comprehensive Addiction and Recovery Act. Conferees from both bodies are currently meeting in what’s known as “conference” to finalize one bill that will go to the President’s desk for signature and passage into law.

It’s critically important that the conferees hear from you as soon as possible! These policy leaders must understand how important a comprehensive addiction response is in their home state.

Share a link to the below stories (or tweet your own!) with U.S. Senator Ron Wyden (Oregon) on Twitter: @RonWyden. If you’re not on Twitter, share your story with us here.

“My name is Brent and I am a person in long-term recovery. Over the past 10 years, I have has seen first hand, both in my own life, and in the lives of the thousands of recovering men, women and families I’ve come to know through my work as the Director of the Alano Club of Portland (Oregon’s largest recovery support center that focuses on evidence-based in-patient and out-patient treatment) that programs really do work and save lives and public resources every day. Also, recovery support centers like ours — where a person can grow and thrive throughout their recovery, with the support of peers who’ve been where they are — have proven to extend long-term recovery outcomes and reduce the costly cycle of relapse and recidivism. Bottom line: we know what works, we have the research to support it, so please, pass CARA into law like lives depend on it (because thousands do), and help turn the tide of this addiction epidemic once and for all.” -Brent Canode | Portland, Oregon

“I am the kind of person who gets uncomfortable when I feel my cup only half full. I have always been this kind of person. I’m sure that some people who have similar personality quirks did not resolutely find their way to drugs and alcohol with the vigor that I did. But this is not a story of one of those people.

I am recovering every day from the chaos that drove my life for 11 years. From the age of fourteen, I was drawn into a world that felt like there would always be more, more and still more. The details of my story may be different from others, but someone in addiction knows that more is, sadly, never enough. I’m not sure if I could have shortened my time in active addiction if there had been this kind of advocacy around, and I don’t want to take that chance on the next person.

Anything that we can do to to decrease the likelihood of someone needing to stay out there for one more day, we need to do it. I am a fully functioning person today. Alive, bright and reaching, not for more alcohol, but instead for more life. This is not the work of God. This is the work of countless people who worked tirelessly to relate to me and provide me with the tools I needed to survive in a world without mind altering substances.

If I could give something more to these people I would. However, the only thing I can really truly give is my story.

Thank you to all who help and continue to strive for more, more, and still more of the love that keeps us well.” -Molly McArt | Portland, Oregon

“I am a substance abuse counselor and I work with people who are struggling with making positive changes in their lives. In addition to having a substance use disorder, they usually come to us with many life problems as well due to their inability to problem solve when under the influence of mind-altering substances.

When people have the opportunity to engage in treatment and experience sobriety, they are able to begin to sort out other difficulties they have and take steps to leading productive lives.

Also, many people with substance use disorders also suffer from other mental health issues such as depression and anxiety. When they try alcohol or another substance and find relief for their symptoms, they begin to use substances without knowing they suffer from other disorders.

When people have access to health care, mental health care and addiction treatment, their lives begin to change. People then become able to address issues and concerns in their personal lives and begin to make changes that lead to positive outcomes. Families heal, relationships heal, people begin to work again and they find purpose in their lives. Please continue to make treatment more available to people who are suffering from addiction.”
-Lisa Whistler | Sherwood, Oregon

I was a suicidal and homicidal addict when my family put me in detox and then I was able to go to a state treatment that was free. I am now an addictions counselor and I own a Recovery Shop to try and help others regain their sanity and health and become contributing members to society.
-Judith | Portland, Oregon

I was gifted with recovery from a virulent addition to drugs and alcohol soon after I graduated high school. Though I was able to function highly in college, graduating with honors while active in a number of activities to include student government, the student newspaper and theatrical productions, acting, directing and producing, my addiction rendered me most depressed and hopeless. I volunteered to go to Vietnam as a suicide gesture, hoping to die in a blaze of glory. I survived despite myself and spent a number of years living a high-risk using life upon return. In 1972, I got sober to get a second wife back and started outpatient treatment in one of the first alcoholism treatment programs funded by the Hughes Act in New York City.

In 1976, I was hired as a “paraprofessional” alcoholism counselor due to my recovery, the first job in what was a most successful and rewarding 30-year career in the field of addiction.

I have experienced first-hand, both personally and professionally the ravages to families and society caused by addiction. My son hit his first rehab at age 14 and spent the next 10 years in and out of rehabs, long-term programs for adolescents, psychiatric wards, jails and surviving on the streets. Primarily addicted to Special K, ketamine, active as a DJ in the rave scene, he had many relapses, usually started by having a beer or two, in denial that he was also addicted to alcohol like his father.

Today, he shares recovery with me being clean and sober in his 11th year. A step-daughter is currently prostituting herself to support her heroin habit.

Like many chronic diseases, alcoholism requires extensive resources for ongoing treatment. Relapse is part and parcel of the disease process for many addicted people. Like diabetes, cancer, cardiac conditions, COPD, etc., addiction cannot be cured, but it can be successfully arrested when continuing treatment resources are available. “Progress, not perfection” is possible with ongoing treatment available over a period of time. I got and stayed sober without relapse; my son experienced many relapses, but has experienced, like me, multiple years in recovery; my step-daughter may very well become a mortality statistic, but as the old song from my youth goes, “two outta three ain’t bad.”

Please, Senators and Congresspersons, provide the necessary resources to treat addiction.-Thomas | Seaside, Oregon

Drug and alcohol addiction causes damage to hopes, dreams, families, children, employers the economy and more. Please continue to support legislation that supports drug and alcohol treatment. I’m sober since 9–5–1995.
-Steve Harris | Beaverton, Oregon

I entered recovery on January 3, 1986, through a treatment program and have remained abstinent since then. Working in the addictions treatment field for over 25 years, I have seen first hand the struggles of people who do not have access to the care and treatment they need. Finding money for methadone treatment, waiting for a bed in residential or detox, worried about a safe place for oneself and one’s children — all can be overwhelming when a person is fighting the physical and psychological urge to continue their addiction. CARA is vitally important. Everyone should have access to this important aspect of healthcare. Thank you for your consideration.” -Jeanine Bassett | Portland, Oregon

--

--

Facing Addiction
FacingAddiction

Facing Addiction is a national non-profit organization dedicated to finding solutions to the addiction crisis by unifying the voice of over 45 million Americans