Stories from Pennsylvania

Facing Addiction
FacingAddiction
Published in
5 min readJun 22, 2016
Created by Ted Grajeda from Noun Project

Now’s your chance to let Congress know you’re passionate about CARA!

Both the Senate and House have passed versions of the Comprehensive Addiction and Recovery Act. Conferees from both bodies are currently meeting in what’s known as “conference” to finalize one bill that will go to the President’s desk for signature and passage into law.

It’s critically important that the conferees hear from you as soon as possible! These policy leaders must understand how important a comprehensive addiction response is in their home state.

Share a link to this story (or tweet your own!) with Rep. Patrick Meehan (Pennsylvania) on Twitter: @RepMeehan. If you’re not on Twitter, share your story with us here.

My 32-year-old son has been inpatient 15 times — only at a maximum of 5 to 10 days stay at each time. The cost per stay would be tremendously less if he only had one stay the first time…

Studies prove the addicted brain will need time to heal — and most need ‘retraining’ on life skills that caused them to feel so lost and use in the first place.

Addiction is the only disease where the sufferer must go figure out how to find a remedy on their own. Relapse rate is significant. Crime rates — homeless — assistance plans for the children left behind are all the results of less treatment days.-Terri Darreff | Hatboro, PA

“I am a recovering addict and alcoholic who is also a professional in the field of addiction and recovery. My clean date is 1/4/1991. A year later, I began my work in the field. Over the past 25 years, I have watched the recovery community and the professional community struggle to have their voices heard. It is only after a significant amount of individuals have suffered that the powers that be are listening. I am one of the fortunate ones who was able to secure the treatment and ongoing support that I needed and still need to live a life that is happy, joyous and free. There are many others still out there who do not have the needed resources to enter into recovery. It is imperative that action be taken such as CARA.”
-Shawn Anne Mcnichol | Conestoga, PA

“I’m a person in long-term recovery since October 12, 2005 and have a 19-year-old son who has struggled with substance use and is now in the prison system. I also experienced the loss of my only sibling, my younger brother, from the disease of addition. My experience in Adams/Franklin County, PA, where I spent the majority of my active using days, is that there is lack of support and funding. The stigma is very alive in those communities. I believe that more support and action that comes from our governmental systems will drastically shift peoples perspectives and the epidemic into a more care management and action-based outlook when it comes to those suffering in the bondage of the disease of addiction. It will encourage those suffering to reach out for help.”
-Kelly Baldwin | York, PA

“My son Frankie died at the age of 20 of an heroin overdose while in a halfway house. The insurance decided my son was ready to leave inpatient after 42 days. They were wrong. Frankie died three days later.”
-Jacqueline Tomaselli | Philadelphia, PA

“My life was forever changed on 1/14/15 when I found my son Mike in his room, lifeless from a heroin overdose. There are no words to describe the devastation this has caused our family. He fought so hard to recover, but could not get the help he desperately needed. Please support CARA and get it to the president’s desk without delay! EVERY day the world is losing 129+ beautiful souls to substance use disorders.” -Linda Nugent | Marcus Hook, PA

“Watching my boyfriend struggle with addiction was not an easy task. He lost his battle on September 17, 2015. He will never be remembered by his addiction, but by the way he lit up a room with his smile and laugh and how selfless he was. Addiction has such a stigma and stereotype and no one actually understands until they lose someone they love to this horrible disease. Randy Leroy Crone III was 22 with the rest of his life ahead of him. It’s time to fight this!”
-Briana | York, PA

“My name is Stacey and I am a very grateful, recovering addict. My journey began when I was ‘legally’ prescribed opiates after the birth of my last child. When that was no longer a viable avenue for me, I began using heroin. Addiction is a disease that I have struggled with for years. I have lost my children, my marriage and my career, but most importantly, myself. Without treatment, I would either be incarcerated or dead.

It is imperative that treatment be made available for people from all walks of life. Today, I have an amazing life — thanks to multiple programs that guided me through some many difficult times. Our disease can be put into remission and we can lead productive and wonderful lives. We cannot do this alone. This is where our elected officials can make a huge difference in the lives of millions. The stigma that addicts face must be eliminated! With your help, that can be done. As a country in the grips of an opioid crisis, you can make the difference in the lives of millions. Thank you!” -Stacey Longarini | Harrisburg, PA

“My husband and I have 4 sons, now between the ages of 23 and 29. Two of our sons are heroin addicts, and for the past 8 years, we have been dealing with the nightmare of active addiction, treatment, recovery and relapse.

One son now has almost 5 years clean, but addiction forced him to withdraw from the University of Virginia after completing his 3rd year. The toll has been much higher for our other son, who has been battling addiction for the past 8 years. A gifted athlete, he forfeited a college basketball scholarship, has a list of legal troubles including DUIs and a more serious charge, has been on house arrest and probation, has been homeless, penniless, jobless, suicidal, and was clinically dead from an overdose before. By the grace of God, I was able to resuscitate him with CPR. All of this occurred between the ages of 17 and 25. His life, hopes, and dreams have been completely derailed by addiction.

My sons are among countless in our community who struggle with the disease of addiction; as parents, we attend weekly Narcotics Anonymous meetings, which are getting more and more populated by families impacted by addiction. This disease is a major threat to an entire generation. The damage it causes to our children, families, and communities cannot be underestimated.”
-Nancy Shea | Pittsburgh, PA

“Having been a trauma nurse for 25+ years , I believed that I ‘could handle those pain pills.’ Well, the truth is, the pain pills ended up handling me for more years than I care to remember.

I had no idea what to expect in detox . What I went through in those days that follow is something that I cannot even put into words.

I just recently celebrated my 9-year anniversary, free from all mind-altering chemicals. 4/27/2007 is my CLEAN DATE!

Passing this bill would be a huge benefit for future people who feel as though there is no HOPE.” -Susan B. | Pittsburgh, PA

--

--

Facing Addiction
FacingAddiction

Facing Addiction is a national non-profit organization dedicated to finding solutions to the addiction crisis by unifying the voice of over 45 million Americans