Convocation Profile: Bonita Marie Bohnet

Faculty of Native Studies
RIBBONS
Published in
3 min readJun 18, 2024
Bonita Marie Bohnet convocates with a BA in Native Studies on June 18

My name is Bonita Marie Bohnet, and I am from the Northwest Territories. I spent my younger years in the communities of Ft. Smith and Ft. Liard before moving to Yellowknife where I have spent most of my life. I am a member of the Northwest Territory Metis Nation, and the Ft. Smith Metis Council. Currently I am graduating with a Bachelor of Arts in Native Studies and a Certificate in Indigenous Governance and Partnership.

Why did you choose to study Native Studies?

I chose to study Native Studies because I wanted to learn not only about the history of Indigenous peoples in this country, but also about the institutions and systems of colonization that continue today. I wanted to learn about or own Indigenous governance systems, our ways of being and knowing, so that I may contribute to making meaningful change within these imposed, oppressive systems.

Why did you choose to study at the University of Alberta?

Being a high school dropout and having come from a background where I made bad life decisions, the idea of attending any post secondary institution seemed out of reach. I remember visiting the U of A campus once when I was younger, I saw the buildings and it seemed like such a magical place I could only ever dream of attending. It was not a place for people like me.

When I was older, I audited a class on campus as part of a trial Walls to Bridges class where I did very well. As a result, I was encouraged to apply to university, and although there were other schools I could have applied to, I chose only to apply here, because that once unattainable dream was no longer out of reach. For the first time in my life, I had a goal that I was passionate about achieving.

What was one of the most memorable experiences during your degree?

The most memorable experience of my degree was one day in my fourth year, at the end of a course, our class was instructed to write down our most pivotal learning moments on sticky notes, then put them up anonymously on the walls of the room. Once they were all up we saw my name was written on four of them. Some of my classmates had attributed their most pivotal learning moments to me: to something I had encouraged them to do, something I said that that was meaningful to them, things I had taught them. It was in that moment that I realised I had unknowingly made an impact in the lives of my peers.

Throughout the course of my studies, I had the opportunity do many other memorable things: water walks along the river, art classes that turned into healing circles, holding ceremonies and singing and drumming in the quad. Not to mention working with, learning with and meeting numerous Indigenous scholars and activists that I respect. However, it was that class when my peers let me know that I had inspired them that I find the most memorable, because it was then that I finally understood I was where I was needed, that I belonged here. I am where I am supposed to be.

What advice do you have for future Native Studies students?

My advice for future Native Studies students is to be brave and take up space; know you belong here, and you are enough! I also encourage you to speak up, think critically and don’t be afraid to ask questions, or question what you learn. Also be yourself! Its ok to not fit in any boxes, so make no apologies for who you are and where you have been. I truly believe it was when I stopped trying to fit in and embraced my authentic self, that I truly began to succeed in academia.

What does the future hold for you?

I cannot say for certain what the future holds for me now that I have completed my degree, other than that I have been accepted into the Master of Arts in Native Studies program for the fall. I will use that opportunity to continue growing, learning, and doing my best do disrupt colonial systems of oppression, division and exclusion so Indigenous Peoples and Lands may once again thrive.

--

--