Convocation Profile: Celina Yellowbird

Faculty of Native Studies
RIBBONS
Published in
3 min readJun 15, 2023
Celina Yellowbird convocates with a BA in Native Studies on June 15

Why did you choose to study Native Studies?

I chose Native Studies because for me as a mixed nehiyaw iskwew, being able to study through a critical Indigenous lens was so important for me. Being able to study and work with professors that implemented Indigenous ways of being and knowing helped me with my mental health and success
in my degree.

Why did you choose to study at the University of Alberta?

I chose to study at the U of A because I was born and raised here on Treaty 6 territory, thus being able to study on these lands where my family lived and to be the first Yellowbird of my family to attend university, I knew I wanted to be here on my ancestors’ land. It was a healing and resilient decision I knew I needed to make.

What was one of the most memorable experiences during your degree?

One of the most memorable experiences here at the U of A was taking the Cree classes. Here I got to be in a space where I had the opportunity to learn a language my family and ancestors spoke. Being able to sit in class and learn from the amazing Dorothy Thunder and learn with amazing peers really made learning Cree so fun and it was such a healing and fulfilling experience.

What advice do you have for future Native Studies students?

My advice is to be open minded and to always be willing to learn new things. Be ready to unlearn and learn and be ready to meet incredible new people. There are also great resources on campus for mental health through First Peoples House, and I recommend going to their events like tea and bannock days, soup and bannock lunches, Cree workshops, etc. These will be great places for you to meet amazing people and to be part of a great community.

What does the future hold for you?

I will be going into my masters fall 2023 at the UofA where I will be doing my research on MMIWG2S+ and afterwards I want to go into law school and become a lawyer for our people. I hope that with my research I
can help make Edmonton a safe place for our Indigenous women, girls, two-spirited folks and more and for all Indigenous Peoples. If I decide to go into law I want to learn everything I need to know about law and the Canadian system and bring it back to my community and braid the two together. I want to be a voice to my community.

Celina Yellowbird belongs to the Alexander First Nation and was born
and raised in amiskwaciwaskahikan, Treaty 6 territory. Her father is Cree from Alexander FN and her mother is French from France. She is graduating from Native Studies with a minor in anthropology

--

--