Convocation Profile: Lorell Ward

Faculty of Native Studies
RIBBONS
Published in
4 min readNov 22, 2023
Lorell Ward sits in a car and smiles at the camera, wearing a beaded necklace and black blazer
Lorell Ward convocates with a BA in Native Studies on November 22

Why did you choose to study Native Studies?

I chose a Native Studies degree for many reasons: I felt like I owe it to myself personally, to my community and to others. My ancestors fought hard for me to have these opportunities and so I wanted to make sure that I do it right. Therefore I chose Native Studies because I wanted to develop extensive knowledge through an Indigenous worldview and how I can apply these understandings within an ever-changing society.

Why did you choose to study at the University of Alberta?

I juggled for the first three years in open studies and nothing was truly sticking out to me. I ended up having to take a year off after that. During that one year break I constantly reflected on the reason I applied for university in the first place. I remember in high school my grad coach took me out to tour universities in Edmonton. When came to the University of Alberta, the thing that caught my attention the most was the Indigenous representation and support on campus. Seeing the Indigenous community at U of A initially gave me a sense of hope that I, too, have a place here in these institutions.

I applied for the University of Alberta in grade 12 and I remember telling my friends and family that I was not going to be accepted. I lacked confidence and motivation, but all it took was for someone to believe in me. I was accepted into the Transition Year Program at U of A shortly after that. That’s why Indigenous representation is so important, when we see Indigenous peoples within these spaces it ignites a spark into our people; especially our Indigenous youth. I knew that being in university was going to be challenging as a nehiyaw. Even going to a high school in the city was scary for me, let alone university, and if it were not for the Indigenous supports that I have had in my academic studies I would not be where I am today. It is critical to have immense support for our Indigenous students because it is not easy being in these spaces, and I aim to be that support and motivation for others.

What was one of the most memorable experiences during your degree?

My most memorable experiences has to be the friendships. I had a full circle moment in the last year of my degree: at the beginning of my education journey in the TYP program in 2016, we started the first week being outside on the land. I created special friendships in that first year and then I finished my undergraduate studies being out onto the land surrounded by good people once again. In other words, my most memorable experiences are the connections I have made with others. I was able to embody Indigenous livelihood/worldview while also being immersed into my studies within an institution. It was those kinship relations that I’ve made not only to others but to myself and to the land. Gaining even more appreciation for the land because that is education in itself. It was about embodying wahkohtowin without even knowing it in those moments. The connections I have made in my academic studies will continue to impact my life going forward and for that I am thankful, always.

What advice do you have for future Native Studies students?

My advice for future Native Studies students is that they have a place here at the university. Our existence in these spaces is a big deal, so be proud of yourself. It’s easy sometimes to feel like you are not heard or seen, it may feel intimidating, but you are not alone, and it’s important to utilize the supports on campus. Create meaningful relationships with other students and staff because we are all in these institutions together. We are all living and learning as there is always room for understanding and to share knowledge with one another, from all walks of life.

Another piece of advice is to surround yourself with good people who will support your education. Know that not everyone will have the same experience as you, so do not compare yourself to others, it is about the journey. You’re doing a great job and I am proud of you.

What does the future hold for you?

I do not have all the answers right now and that’s okay. I am still learning how to navigate in this life, I know that I eventually want to pursue a law degree in the future. I am interested in Indigenous legal knowledge and it was always my favourite topic in my undergraduate classes.

I am from Maskekosihk known as Enoch Cree Nation. Maskekosihk translates to “people of the land of the medicine”. I have lived in Enoch my whole life and it is located not very far from the University of Alberta so I had the privilege of staying within my community while also attending University. I am graduating with a Native Studies degree with a minor in Sociology and an Indigenous Governance and Partnership Certificate.

--

--