Convocation Profile: Marlee Willier

Faculty of Native Studies
RIBBONS
Published in
3 min readJun 18, 2024
Marlee Willier convocates with a BA in Native Studies on June 18

Why did you choose to study Native Studies?

I chose Native Studies because of the supportive and welcoming community that we have on campus. I was initially in the Faculty of Science, however Dr. Paul Gareau (Native Studies professor) welcomed me with such bright enthusiasm when I took an NS 100 course that I took the opportunity to switch my major and pursue Native Studies full-time. I loved connecting not only to my culture but also to other Indigenous students and professors on campus. I felt extremely uplifted from my classes.

Why did you choose to study at the University of Alberta?

Coming from a rural community, all of our goals were to move to the ‘big city’ (Edmonton) and attend university there. All of my friends from highschool were applying to UofA, so I applied too! Thankfully I got in, and have been living in Edmonton for 8 years now!

What was one of the most memorable experiences during your degree?

Studying abroad in South Korea last summer was definitely the highlight of my degree. I studied abroad with my twin sister Valerie Willier and little cousin Brianna Willier (both of whom are in Native Studies) in Seoul, South Korea at Yonsei University. I took a class on North Korea where we actually got to interview North Korean escapees and to learn about the unique political landscape and history of North Korea. Besides that, it was my first time traveling internationally and it was an amazing experience! I have wanted to study abroad in Korea for almost my whole undergrad and to finally have the chance to do so was a dream come true, and I couldn’t have done it without the generous help, support and understanding from the Education Abroad team at the UofA.

What advice do you have for future Native Studies students?

I would definitely recommend taking advantage of all of the opportunities available on campus, such as First People’s House, the Indigenous space in ECHA, the Beading with Friends group organized by Bug Sylvester, scholarships and bursaries, as well as the GSO Scholarship to Study abroad for Indigenous students! I would also recommend to push yourself to talk to professors and the people around you, and to always challenge yourself to new opportunities. If you can, take courses outside of Native Studies, such as a language course or an arts course.

What does the future hold for you?

I have thankfully secured a job working as the I-STEAM program coordinator for the I-STEAM Pathways program, which is a summer research program intended for Indigenous students to engage in scientific research regardless of what faculty they belong to. It is a program that I am extremely proud to be a part of in order to reduce the barriers between Indigenous students and engaging in graduate level research. So I will continue to be on campus supporting students the best I can! I intend to pursue my Masters in Native Studies in the future, but for now I’m taking a break from school and working.

Marlee Willier is from Slave Lake, Alberta, her reserve is Driftpile Cree Nation. She is convocating with a Bachelor of Arts in Native Studies with a minor in Sociology.

--

--