Convocation Profile: Wil Fraser

Faculty of Native Studies
RIBBONS
Published in
3 min readJun 18, 2024
Wil Fraser convocates with a BA in Native Studies on June 18

Tân’si nitôtem’tik, niwakomakanak. Wil Fraser nitsîhkâson, Mistawasis ohci niya.

Greetings my friends, my relatives. My name is Wil Fraser, I am from Mistawasis (Treaty 6). I graduated with a Bachelor of Arts in Native Studies, with a minor in Sociology in December, 2023.

Why did you choose to study Native Studies?

I do not feel that I “chose” Native Studies; more like I was guided in the direction of study. After thirty years of working in the trades, becoming a parent during that time led me to also become a youth sports coach. That endeavor led me to commit my time to helping not only my two strong and intelligent nehiyaw sons, but all Indigenous and non-Indigenous youth in sports. As a result of enjoying the volunteer experience, a new path of inspiration developed, and I knew it was time to change direction and strengthen my cultural knowledge, identity and awareness of ancestral history in a way that would enable me to share, encourage and inspire others.

Why did you choose to study at the University of Alberta?

I did not choose the U of A. The U of A chose me by offering me the opportunity to return to academic study. As a mature parent helping to raise two sons in Edmonton, the idea of becoming a student did not provide or allow relocation as an option. Besides, the University of Alberta’s faculty of Native Studies presented the prime opportunity to explore, support and strengthen much of the revitalization of my nehiyaw identity, which I longed to rebuild.

What was one of the most memorable experiences during your degree?

The consistency of support, understanding, and encouragement from faculty staff, my peers and especially my spouse, Lisa. Being a mature student/parent can be challenging but with the right amount of understanding and encouragement, Lisa presented me with the motivation to persevere when assignments and life seemed overwhelming.

What advice do you have for future Native Studies students?

Ask questions. Feel free to ask for help or clarification on any matter; as much as you may want to figure everything out independently, asking questions for clarification helps alleviate stress big time. Never assume. Believe in yourself and know that everyone believes in you, including me. Use the support services available at the university, chat with an Elder, stay active and stay positive. Absorb the lessons and words that strengthen your spirit and inspire you to want to learn more. Share what you learn, and know that your words and actions will inspire and empower others. From my perspective, success is never about winning or losing but more about knowing you have applied the best possible effort.

What does the future hold for me?

Belief. Inspiration. Strength. Wisdom. Resilience. Revitalization. Pride. Determination.

Knowing that I have successfully strengthened my identity and my spirit, which for so long only felt the bitterness of intergenerational trauma and pressured colonial conformity expectations, now absorbs and releases the strengths of intergenerational wisdom, my voice, my words, and my actions can be used to share, empower, and encourage others towards continued success in their future endeavors, and hopefully towards a revitalization of culture.

--

--