Q&A with the new PLSQL Team

Nikolay Penchev
Fadata Voices

--

A conversation with the graduates from Fadata PLSQL Training Camp.

Fadata has organized several initiatives in the last couple of years. One of the highlights was the PLSQL Online Training Camp — a free training offered to anyone interested in gaining an understanding of database training. The first training camp saw a couple of colleagues joining the company and marked their professional development in the IT sector. In 2021, we organized the second edition of the training Camp with great interest and participation.

As a result, Fadata grew once more, having new joiners filling our ranks and bringing their creativity and passion on board. We are happy to share some of their thoughts about the whole experience.

Q&A with the PLSQL Team:

1. How did you find out about the PLSQL training camp and what made you decide to sign up? (@Ana)

I’m last year software engineering student and I found out about the PLSQL training camp through the university. I did not think for a second about whether to get involved, the decision was made immediately because the discipline I studied with the greatest interest at the university was related to Databases!

Therefore, the training was a great opportunity for me to meet people with the same interests as mine, learn from them and improve my skills in this technical direction.

2. What do you think about the learning experience and the time spent at the training camp? (@Stanislava)

In the training camp, I gained a lot of new and useful knowledge about programming with PL/SQL. I also learned to adapt quickly to different tasks because the training was very intensive. During the training camp, we also had meetings with a representative from Fadata’s HR team who enriched our soft skills in a very innovative and fun way. I am glad that I passed the training camp successfully and that I am part of the Fadata team

3. Were there any notable challenges? (@Yanko)

Of course at first, as a new joiner in the company, there are a lot of challenges of different kinds — getting familiar with the different modules, and different teams and getting familiar with the way of working. The most important thing is to understand the basis of the company and the software. You don’t have to be worried there are a lot of colleagues who are ready to help you with any questions or problems so they make the whole process of introducing yourself to the company easier.

4. What were your first impressions of the learning experience? (@Lyudmil)

The world of PLSQL was something completely new to me. When I started going into it, I realized that I like it a lot and that’s what I want to do. The teachers at the academy were methodical, careful, and tried to smooth out any ambiguities that arise in us, students. This significantly affected my desire to continue to develop my PL SQL skills.

5. Which were the most interesting aspect of your day-to-day activities during the course? (@Igor)

For me, it would be practical exercises. Getting hands-on experience and experimenting with solutions and approaches to solving the problems was the most interesting part of the course. We would later use the newfound knowledge to solve the daily Homework tasks. Having one aspect of PL/SQL to focus on each day really helped us pick it apart and figure out how it functions. With each new topic that we covered we built upon the skills, we had acquired in the previous days.

6. Can you share what has been your experience at the company after graduating from the training camp? (@Georgi)

Before starting I was a bit concerned due to the fact that this was going to be my very first job as a developer, but when we kicked off I felt that I am at the right place. Despite the fact that I was a bit nervous at the beginning of the onboarding, all of my colleagues managed to make me feel part of this team.

A lot of people are involved in our educational process and in spite of being busy with a lot of tasks on daily basis, they manage to make us push forward and share their knowledge with us every single day. I am very excited to keep on my career journey in such a company like Fadata and give my best.

7. What excites you the most about your work? (@Atanas)

The thing that excites me the most about my work is learning every day, and the new acquaintance with wonderful colleagues. Working with my new team to be better each day, so that we can ensure that with our work we can deliver the product to the client in its best state. Enjoying the time with my new colleagues, who are teaching us how to be better developers and helping us grow as a team.

8. What do you think of the onboarding process? (@Stoyan)

The onboarding process was well planned. We went from information about policies and employee benefits through most parts of our future work. At first, we had an explanation about what the software itself is used for and after that we dive deep into different modules and parts of the software. Also, we had several days to practice and code different tasks, sometimes we had to work as a group, and sometimes the task was individual. Although the whole process was online-based, we got to know each other well. Right from day one, we can feel the familiarity and friendliness between us — new joiners and experienced employees.

--

--