Q&A with the QA

Nikolay Penchev
Fadata Voices
4 min readAug 12, 2021

--

In Pursuit of Excellence…

This article is dedicated to the new joiners from the QA Team at Fadata. We had the pleasure of having a chat and find what motivates them, how and why did they choose Fadata and more.

Quality Assurance (QA) or also Quality testing is vital for software engineering as it is responsible for delivering consistent results through standardized procedures. All in all, it is the practice of implementing procedures and standards to ensure that the software meets a given set of requirements prior to it being released. This is not to be mistaken with the actual testing of the product but with the establishment of those procedures, which are linked to having the best possible outcome thus making the QA activities process-oriented.

While having the best product out there is the main goal for companies, customer-centricity can be often moved away from the spotlight in pursuit of market trends and new functionalities. Here is where the QA steps in — to maintain the finite balance between having the best product with the best possible outcome for the end-user. The latter can vary from poor navigation, bug fixes and slow load times among others.

In 2021, Fadata welcomed a team of dedicated QA Engineers to help along our quest to have a quality product without compromise for the customer. The team has been part of Fadata for a couple of months now and we decided to have a chat with them and find about their first impressions of the company as well as what motivates, inspires, and drives them.

  1. What made you decide to pursue a career in QA?

Todor Gabrovski: The subject of how the software works, why it sometimes doesn’t work as we expected is something I have found interesting since I was very young. One day, after work, I decided to make a big change in my life and to start something completely new, something that I know I’d love to have as my profession. I began learning the basics of Quality Assurance and all its specifics. One year later, I started my first job as a QA in Fadata, and now, months later, I am certain this is the right place for me.

2. What do you think of the onboarding process?

Donika Bogoeva: The onboarding program was very well structured. We had enough time to go through many processes in the system. Each of us had a mentor who answered our questions and difficulties in the tasks if any. We went through manual and automation onboarding, which gradually got us into the real work. I think the onboarding process has taught us many things that are useful for us now.

3. What were your first impressions of the team?

Samuela Nenova: I remember my first day vividly. I was curious to meet my colleagues and also a little bit nervous because we were all working from home and, you know, meeting online and meeting in person are two way different things. My team leader had organized a meeting in which all QAs participated. Contrary to my expectations, the meeting went great! They were all with cameras on, smiling and telling jokes about themselves. They made me feel calm and managed to make me feel welcomed and tell more about myself. Over time, I realized that they are also great professionals and always there to help a scared junior.

4. What excites you the most about your work?

Krum Karapetrov: The thing that excites me the most about my work is the fact that through my and the team’s work we ensure that our customers receive the best experience working with our product. Our constant strive towards ensuring the quality of the product meets the strictest criteria and industry-leading standards. Knowing that your actions are what can make or break the product in the eyes of our customers and the responsibility that comes with it.

5. Any notable challenges?

Aleksandra Kachakova: At first, as a new joiner at a company, there are the usual challenges that a person in that position faces — getting familiar with the process flows of the company, mapping each person’s role in the big picture, and finding out who to turn to for information. Apart from these, the most notable challenge specific to the QA profession is the realization that you have the last word in confirming a functionality works as expected. This comes with a big responsibility. The good thing is that after gaining more experience and knowledge on the job, those can serve as a motivator for constant improvement.

6. Most interesting aspect of your day-to-day activities?

Boryana Popova: Solving complex tasks has always been my passion — something that I really enjoy doing. In our day-to-day activities, we have to handle various tasks, challenging our creativity, logical thinking, knowledge and skills. It’s like solving different puzzles every day. Although constantly searching for new approaches to solving problems might seem exhausting that also brings great opportunities to become more skillful and knowledgeable. Our day-to-day activities require a lot of communication with highly experienced and knowledgeable colleagues from different teams. The chance to collaborate with such great professionals makes the job even more interesting.

--

--