Your Network isn’t MY Net Worth

Getting Paid instead of Getting Promises

Kieran Andrew Can ☀️
Failed Millennial Life
4 min readMay 31, 2018

--

@esteejanssens on Unsplash.com

Stop paying me with words. Stop promising to pay me later on. Just stop.

I’m a creative professional, certified Graphic Designer, with a post-graduate education and a business degree and published writing spanning seven years. I sold my first print ad from a f*cking payphone while at high school and created a 100+ page school magazine using the ONE computer my school had available on weekends. Artwork then was WordArt. I’ve worked with Fortune 50 chief executives to help them build speeches and conference programs. I once met the guy behind Got Milk! and he was kind to not judge my hairstyle at the time. I hung out with the CMO of Monster.com and she added the Caribbean to her list for future travel. I even have Fmr Senate Majority Leader, Bill Frist’s personal number after having put together an event that George Bush Sr spoke at. I’ve worked for ten years across three states, four countries and met hundreds of people; thousands likely. I’ve interviewed over 400+ people in my lifetime, personally coached 20+ and spoke to audiences in person and across the globe by way of my writing on social and digital media. I’ve almost single-handedly managed McDonald’s ENTIRE social media in my country (from messages to content creation) for THREE years. I booted up a State Company’s social media presence and managed both the actual Miss Universe pageant in PR and an actual former Miss Universe too. I even tried to have our leaders meet in their first televised debate (one party tried to buy it out and the other declined the day AFTER they lost the election)

Above all, I employ myself.

So WHAT the f*ck you mean you want me to use my skills to work with you for free and be happy that your network would be a valuable addition to my life?

The point is, if we are going to be promising to commit our respective networks to each other, you’re gonna wanna walk with some change.

NO

c

It’s the most powerful word in business, one that I only have gotten comfortable using in the last few years. Except I don’t say ‘No’ right away. No, no, no. Instead. Here’s what you do:

Take the Meeting

But make it worth your while. If you like coffee set it at your fave java spot. If you like art then chart it around the same time as an exhibition and make your cheap suitor accompany you. Or pay for dinner. They set the meeting but you set the place then the pace. At least you get something for nothing already.

Listen

This is key. They want you to work for free, so listen carefully. Since they are asking for a favour, they are going to tell you everything you need to know and then some. They are asking the favour, you ask the questions — about their business model, about their future plans about anything that is business relevant. Knowledge is power. This is your cue.

Control the Demand

If you think you don’t mind doing some part of the work: monetise that part. It’s easy. What you do is layout everything you can do as part of the project and pick just one part of the whole project and monetise it by asking for a small payment for your time for just that. If they say no, well, you weren’t gonna get a cent before asking anyway. If they say yes (and they generally do say yes) you just added value to your bank account in exchange for just a taste of value to their project. You just earned some $$$ for a PART of their project when you weren’t going to earn a cent for the WHOLE thing. And why would they pay? They would see it as a small way to make you happy and hope that it would incentivise you to do the whole project.

Work the HELL out of it

Now you want to deliver value. Above and beyond — go the distance. If you are doing a social media bit then maybe you monetised the Audit part of it. Give them the best audit ever. This will reflect your quality of work and experience.

Decide if you Want and Can do more

And talk to them again about a part payment. Perhaps they can’t afford anymore. But chances are you are in the game already — what’s a few dollars more to them with the value you seem to bring to the table.

Before you know it, you can actually bank some cash or complete the whole project with small part payments.

Now that’s hard cash you can take to the bank — no more promises of glory later on. And the best part, you just got a hell of a alot of value and delivered the same in return.

Kieran is a seven-year contributor with a Caribbean-based newspaper, a content & marketing strategist and a graduate of the Institute of International Relations, UWI.

--

--