I Will Fail More in 2014

And why that’s a good thing

Jared Taylor
Jared Taylor

--

This year, and every year for the rest of my life, I’ve decided want to fail more.

Why?

Why would I want to fail? No one sets out to fail. No one wants to be associated with the word.

Last week I read Seth Godin’s Poke The Box, an 83 page manifesto about taking initiative in your life or work. It’s not a roadmap. It’s not a “how to” guide.

It’s a call to action. It’s a declaration. Go! Get up! Start something!

“Please stop waiting for a map. We reward those who draw maps, not those who follow them.”

Last year I created and, with the help of a friend, executed a unique concept brunch at my house. We practiced all year long. We got good at it. I thought a lot about taking it to the next level — popup restaurants are trending nowadays. I talked a lot about it — I’d tell people my idea. But I made excuses. “We’ll see…” was a common response to those who inquired.

Here’s the thing. There’s very little risk in pursuing this idea. If I can convince an existing restaurant to let me take over for a few hours on a Sunday morning once a month, what do I have to lose? I love doing it. If anything, it’ll be fun.

So why have I stalled?

Because it might not work.

My idea isn’t revolutionary. In fact, I’m shocked it doesn’t exist in the marketplace. Surely others, with culinary backgrounds and much more experience than me, have tried it.

But now I realize that it doesn’t matter. There’s little financial risk and none to my reputation or current job. If it doesn’t work, then I’ll move on to the next thing. And the next. And the next.

“The person who fails the most usually wins. …Talk to any successful person. He’ll be happy to fill you in on his long string of failures.”

I’m ready to fail. Are you?

The above quotes are from Poke the Box. Check it out.

--

--

Jared Taylor
Jared Taylor

Employee experience at Edelman. Organizational psychologist. Mindfulness teacher. Student of life. Human being.