Fair Warning: Gender pay gaps, land use, and Virginia votes

Sophie Warnes
Fair Warning
Published in
4 min readNov 13, 2017

Hello!

I found this National Geographic picture story on the world of manta rays weirdly relaxing; you might too.

Like Fair Warning? Get in your inbox every Sunday! Sign up here!

On the home front

How does income vary along London bus routes? I love how ridiculously detailed this is, and while I’ve seen many similar maps for tube stations, the idea of using bus stops is really interesting. My old bus route (N29) is not as bad as I thought it would be!

The BBC looked into land use, with an interesting interactive which shows you how much of your area has been built on. Knowing how green and open Wales is, I was quite shocked when I put in my postcode and area:

It was equal pay day this week, so there’s been a lot of gender pay gap content. The BBC looked into the pay gap by area, and briefly at the difference by occupation.

The FT created a personal pay gap calculator which tells you exactly how much less or more you earn than someone of the opposite sex.

ONS also recently published a quiz based on the gender pay gap.

Over the pond

Still on the gender pay gap theme, WaPo asserts that American women effectively started working for free 17 days ago (dates correct as of publication). What I like about the graphic further down in here is that it walks users through exactly what they’re seeing, in a way that doesn’t interrupt the experience.

2017 has been the deadliest year for mass shootings. The Economist’s shocking graph puts it into perspective:

Big news this week was the Virginia governor’s race — WaPo has carried out a really in-depth analysis of what exactly happened. It notes, “A key component of the surge for Democrats was the voters in minority neighborhoods.”

NBC compared votes across gender, race, and age. (Source):

Odds and ends

I thought this blog about picking colours for data visualisations was really interesting and worth reading if you’re wanting to create your own palette.

“When writing about love, men are more likely to write about sex, and women about marriage,” says the New York Times. It is interesting to see the differences in wording but I can’t say I am hugely surprised at this…

Ipsos MORI asked the British public what they thought of open banking, and found that just 13% of them would be happy to share their data. Two-thirds of people said they would be concerned about how their data is used. Not surprising, but fintech has been moving this way for a while with products like Chip and Plum.

Bad chart of the week

I went to Big Pit in South Wales on Saturday, and this chart was pointed out to me. There are basically just four data points on a graphic which spans 450 years. WTF? It actually looks like peak output was in 1925… How does that make any sense?

Shameless self-promotion

When I first started this I aimed to create something new each week and I’ve failed miserably at that…
I’ve been wanting to experiment more with APIs and different programming languages, so last weekend I fiddled around with the Spotify API to look at what my ten most played list (on iTunes) says about me. It’s not groundbreaking but more of an experiment in playing with the API than anything else.

That’s all for this week, thank you for reading! If you like this newsletter, please forward it to people, encourage friends to subscribe to it, or buy me a coffee to show your appreciation. I’m on Twitter @SophieWarnes.

--

--

Sophie Warnes
Fair Warning

Data nerd and journalist— has probably worked at your fave UK paper. Unrepentant feminist. Likes: Asking irritating questions. Hates: Writing bios, pandas.