The Rivers and the Sea

“Antibes Seen from La Salis” by Claude Monet, 1888. Public domain. Cropped + enhanced by me.

Long ago, in the days when sprites still lived in the brooks and streams, all the gods of the rivers joined together to accuse the god of the sea.

“When the water flows through our lands, it is drinkable and pure, and the people of the world use this bounty for their crops. Why is it, O Sea, that when our sweet waters meet your tides, you make them briny and unsafe for any person or crop to drink?”

The waves crashed on the beach, and with them came the Sea’s reply:

“You and your waters trespass into my dominion, and yet you reproach me for what I am? If you cannot abide me, then cease flowing!”

A shortform retelling of an Aesop’s fable.

--

--

E. Ardincaple
Fairy Tales, Myths, & Legends

Writer of fantasy and fairy tales, collector of limited edition sunsets. ✨