Allow me to Introduce Myself

Faisal Mami
Faisal Mami
Published in
2 min readJan 26, 2019

Welcome reader! Thank you for stumbling across my first blog post. My name is Faisal Mami and I want to use this first blog as introduction about who I am and why I decided to start a blog.

I am a Muslim immigrant from Libya who is, at the time of writing this, a Mechanical Engineering major at Temple University. Although I am an immigrant, I have lived in the United States for the majority of my life. In fact, I was born in Liverpool (Go Reds!) and raised in Germantown, Philadelphia.

Since my childhood, I have always been passionate about the automotive industry. Automobiles have driven my passion for engineering and has led me to become an active member of the Temple Formula Racing FSAE team. My current position in the organization is the head intake and exhaust engineer of the powertrain system division.

In addition to my engineering related passions, I have numerous other interests. These include watching and playing sports, reading, drawing, playing video games, and watching cartoons and anime. My favorite genres of music are hip hop, jazz, and blues; but I will listen to almost any genre (except country… couldn’t get into it). My favorite sports teams are Liverpool F.C., Eagles, Brazil national team, Libya national team, and Scuderia Ferrari. At the moment, my favorite film is Goodfellas and the most recent book I have read is Sun Tzu’s The Art of War. If you have not read that book yet I advise you to do so. It is a short read and it gives you so much advice that can be used in a number of fields.

Now that I am done boring you with information about myself, I want to talk about why I am writing this blog. This is actually an assignment for my Fluid Mechanics course. I wanted to start a blog for a while now but I did not quite know what to talk about nor did I know how I would budget time for this project. Since it has been assigned, I realized that I have a lot I want to talk about and I look forward to see where this blog will go. I want to use this platform as a method of self reflection and I hope that this will give me an opportunity for self improvement.

Each blog that I post will be concluded with a quote that has meaning to me. For this first post, I wanted to use a quote from one of my heroes and a spokesman for Islam, Muhammad Ali.

I am excited about the future of this blog and I appreciate you taking the time to read it. Hope you have a wonderful day!

He who is not courageous enough to take risks will accomplish nothing in life” — Muhammad Ali

Muhammad Ali. Professional Boxer, Muslim and Black Activist, Philanthropist

--

--