Consequences After Abandoning Higher Power

Michael Patanella
Faith Hacking
Published in
4 min readApr 13, 2018

There was many times in my life where I had abandoned my Higher Power, which was God.

I suffered with a terrible drug addiction for most of a decade, and looking back now, as somebody who has God back in his life, I am able to see where I went wrong and how.

Not reaching for God’s hand, when it was reaching through the clouds for me, was a guarantee that I was setting myself up for failure.

I learned in an Addiction workbook about identifying and then disputing irrational beliefs.

I remember now that these were the same beliefs that my Faith would dispute. I would like to share a few.

“I always fail, I am totally worthless, Nothing good happens to me and never will, because my addictive behavior has proven that I am a loser, I should never trust myself, and my instincts, and will never be able to get through anything without running to the advice of others, and lastly, I am bored, and that makes me uncomfortable.

The only thing I can do is engage in my addictive behavior.

Those statements have a couple things in common.

They are all negative, they are all part of self loathing, they lower self esteem, and they also are the thinking patterns of those who do not have Faith.

I define Faith, as knowing and believing in something, and knowing it is present even though I cant see it

When young……

…..I was taught that those type of negative statements about one’s self, are the exact kind of statements that God does NOT want us to believe.

He teaches us the exact opposite about ourselves.

God is always there, it is never God who does the back turning, or abandoning.

When I was deep in my active addiction, that is when God was reaching the most, and trying his hardest to catch me, as I was falling.

The problem was….

….I had completely turned my Faith off.

I had stopped engaging in my Higher Power.

What I realize now, is (what i wish I realized then) I wish I hadn’t turned away from my faith.

If I had still been deep in engagement with my Faith,

and with God,

I would had realized that

I had on of my greatest allies….

…who wanted to help me,

Wanted to see me succeed,

and get back to being a man of Faith.

The kind of Man who would never tell himself the type of things that I listed above.

I am quite lucky to be alive now, and to have the opportunity to be able to come back out from the dark, and to live every day as a Survivor, and I never go through a day without thinking about my Faith.

I not only think about my Faith, I also am thankful for it….

….and I express that to God, as I communicate with him daily.

God is not there to make us all millionaires, and to give us a life where we will never have to face problems.

The greatest gifts that God can give us, is challenges, that are there to allow us to give a real appreciation for our Higher Power.

It is great to be able to get through those challenges, and have that true sense of gratitude.

Appreciation, Gratitude, and Surviving the Storm. That feat is a valuable gifts from God. Gifts thats value is priceless.

--

--

Michael Patanella
Faith Hacking

Author, Publisher, and Editor. I cover mindfulness, mental health, addiction, sobriety, life, and spirituality among other things. MichaelPatanella.medium.com