How My Faith Helps Me Conquer Life’s Challenges and See the World Differently

Evi Abada, MD, MS
Faith Hacking
Published in
5 min readFeb 13, 2018

Let’s be honest, life could be pretty tough, and without a good emotional support system, one could easily become overwhelmed with all its numerous challenges and problems.

I wouldn’t be telling you the truth if I told you that I have been able to completely figure out life, and impregnable to its countless difficulties. But the truth that I can share with you is that I have been able to discover a better way to live life. I now see life through a different set of lenses, which keeps me motivated and equipped to overcome the daily challenges encountered in life.

You see, I totally understand when people become swamped with all of life’s challenges, because to be honest, they can be pretty numerous. But what I have found difficult to understand is how people are able to go through all of life’s pains and heartaches, without the assurance of a Greater Being having their backs. I mean, how could one possibly go through life without the confidence that a truly Trustworthy Confidante, is working to make sure that everything, irrespective of the weight or gravity of the situation, eventually works out for good?

I see people battle depression and anxiety every day, and I know that I could easily have been one of them, but for the rest and assurance, I experience from my Faith. I have been disappointed, frustrated and even experienced failure, at things I thought I had figured out. I have felt inadequate in some circumstances, which had left me not feeling good enough, and all those experiences had the potentials of putting me into a perpetual state of depression and anxiety, but for my Faith.

Picture credit: www.pixabay.com

For example, I remember how I had worked so hard at securing a job I knew I was totally very qualified for, after several painful months of job search. For this particular job, I had advanced to the very last stage of the recruitment process and felt very confident that the job was already mine, because of the positive feedback I had been receiving from the hiring manager and recruiter. Then all of a sudden, like a lightning flash I received the disappointing email. Someone else had been selected for the role, with no reasons provided for why I had been passed over. I was disappointed, to say the least, and I seriously felt pained. But for my Faith, I probably would have sunk into the pit of depression or low self-esteem. However, My God and Father, who also triples as My emotional Shock Absorber, helped me pull through that very trying period of my life, and saved me from the torments of a low self-esteem.

There is one verse of Scripture that keeps me motivated and focused in the midst of all the challenges I encounter every day. And that verse is found in Ecclesiastes 9:4 (KJV) and it says, “For to him that is joined to all the living, there is hope: for a living dog is better than a dead lion.” So, what does that say to me? It tells me that as long as I am still alive, it doesn’t matter what I encounter, there is always hope that things would turn out just as I want them to.

Apart from helping me overcome challenges and difficulties, you know one other thing my Faith helps me accomplish? It helps me see life and the people in it through a different set of lenses. I am not one that would go about judging anyone or treating anyone differently than I would want to be treated. Because the Scripture teaches me in Matthew 7:1–2 (KJV) that, “judge not, that you be not judged, for with what judgement ye judge, ye shall be judged, and with what measure ye mete, it shall be measured to you again”, and in Matthew 22:36–40 (KJV, paraphrased) that, “thou shalt love God with all thy heart and soul, and also love thy neighbor as thyself.” These fundamental truths from the Bible, helps me see all men as equal and also gives me the ability to treat them right, in exactly the same way that I would love to be treated.

Picture credit: www.pixabay.com

If you are having a hard time navigating through life with all its numerous challenges, it may be time to connect to the emotional Shock Absorber who always has your back and also wants the best for you. That Person is the Only One who truly has your best interests at heart, and He NEVER EVER Fails. I call Him my Friend and Father, and He is the Almighty God. He is trustworthy and Highly Dependable. I can say so because I have come to know Him and walk with Him daily in this Capacity. Getting to know Him may be the best decision you ever make in your life because you definitely need the Power and Strength of the Greater Being to help you navigate through this life with all its senselessness. You do not need to set up any appointments to meet Him, neither do you need any introductions to get connected with Him. You can actually learn more about Him here, and how easy it is to develop a relationship with Him.

In wrapping this up, I remember while going through those very tough times of my life, and still being able to smile and live a joyous life and how a close friend had said, “so you can still smile in spite of all you are going through?” And of course, my answer was “yes”, because of the candid reasons I have just shared above. I was confident that my emotional Shock Absorber always had my back. And although temporary failures and challenges presented to diminish my joyous personality, my Faith always proved Bigger than them, turning me into a better version of myself, each and every time. I hope you will get connected to the Best Emotional Shock Absorber too. You will be amazed at how awesome your life would become. Remain Blessed!

To your continued Success. Cheers!!!

Evi Abada

--

--