Story04 : I went to see the cooperative robot „ANDy“ ♪ We can work together!

VISIONGRAPH Inc.
fakefakefake_en
Published in
2 min readMar 5, 2018

2028.03.5

Today, I was able to see “ANDy”, whom I wanted to see for a long time! Industrial robots have an image of moving in a nimble, quick, almost chaotic manner… but ANDy is different. As expected from “collaboration”, it works at a speed just right for working together and it is easy to teach. Move the arm corresponding to ANDy’s hand, telling it “Do it like this from here (say it out loud!)”; ANDy will remember and do as you said.

We harvested and carried this together!

I was able to experience in succession how it can be taught and how we can work together, and I kept sighing “how clever” from beginning to end. When my explanation was vague, its movements became clumsy; it seemed almost like it was puzzled — so cute…

It is quite handy!

In the second half, we participated in a workshop trying to make a robot, and the children are delighted! We didn’t want to break it until we got home; I was nervous. It was a really nice day; we had a lot of fun.

I made it with a sparkle in my eye :)

“ANDy“ is cheap but highly versatile, and will probably become popular from now on…

Rethink Robotics

A robot adapted to the real environment

Our smart cooperative robot adapts to the actual working environment, and it can be installed quickly; this is a robot which can work excellently with humans. Currently, it is said that 90% of the work in the manufacturing industry is effectively impossible to automate, but Sawyer can deal with a lot of it.

--

--

VISIONGRAPH Inc.
fakefakefake_en

Research & Storymaking Studio in Tokyo. We produces content about upcoming technology, work&lifestyle 10 years from now. http://miraiyoho.com/en/