Fabian Shelton

12/05/18

Lights, Cameras, Appalchia!

Introduction

Appalachia has been portrayed in various ways by mass media, more specifically television networks. I plan to study the depiction of different parts of Appalachia in television shows. The question I aim to answer is “Do television shows depict Appalachia in a way that is accurate and credible, and what assumptions are made about Appalachia based on these depictions?” I am interested in this topic, because through my Appalachian Studies course, I have learned that many false stereotypes exist amongst the Appalachian communities. Leading television networks and Hollywood producers are the key players in the production of these films. Funding for these films come from the budgets networks and Hollywood studios give the makers of the television shows. Articles promoting these shows can typically be found in magazines and online reviews. I plan to use the Virginia Tech Library Database to research this topic further in the next couple weeks and hope to come to a conclusion based on the evidence in my findings. I will read different articles and look at studies that address this topic extensively.

Methods

To begin my research, I logged onto the Virginia Tech Library Database to search terms I thought coincided with my project. I found that terms such as “Appalachia” and “Stereotypes” were not as effective as searching places like “Kentucky” and “Tennessee,” and words such as “television shows” and “mass media.” Through extensive research I found four sources that I found to be helpful in answering my research question. I then used this research, in conjunction with articles and news stories I had previously read, and lessons I learned in my Appalachian Studies course with Dr. Jordan Laney at Virginia Tech to formulate my discussion. I also watched several television programs over the course of two weeks to analyze the methods used by television companies to draw a bigger audience. After taking a deeper plunge into Appalachia and the characteristics of its people, I quickly discovered that this issue has been discussed in the television industry and in politics for a considerable amount of time. My initial research question of “Do television shows depict Appalachia in a way that is accurate and credible, and what assumptions are made about Appalachia based on these depictions?” led me down avenues that made me ask deeper questions such as “What attracts viewers to the stereotypical Appalachian person?” and “How do television shows that negatively portray Appalachia survive in a more progressive America.” These became the questions that I received answers to in compliance with my initial research question.

Findings

Based on my research and outside knowledge on stereotypes of Appalachia, I found that television shows do purposefully attract viewers with Appalachian stereotypes. Shows such as “Moonshiners,” “Buckwild,” and “Here Comes Honey Boo Boo” all play on the stereotypes I have gained knowledge about through my Appalachian Studies course. Television programs such as these show “…Appalachians and Southerners depicted as hillbillies, white trash, or rednecks…” which is considerably offensive to the people from the areas where these shows are filmed (Massey 368). The effects of such stereotypes on youth is potentially more dangerous than for adults, because children often believe what they see on television more easily. Children often mock the “…outlandish behavior and statements of the adults…” they are around, further feeding into these stereotypes and creating a culture where shows demeaning children such as “Here Comes Honey Boo Boo” can flourish (Massey 370). This typical behavior can follow children up into their teens and even adulthood. West Virginia Senator Joe Manchin called out television producers that “…coaxed them into displaying shameful behavior…” as a means to boost network ratings (Heil). This generalization of people can become harmful and unethical in many circumstances. People are afraid of what they do not understand and people who see that “…mountain dwellers are strange, peculiar, and potentially dangerous…” can stray people away from getting to know people from places such as Tennessee, Kentucky, and West Virginia where these shows are filmed (Jackson & Henson 186).

Conclusion

Appalachia has seen its share of ups and downs throughout the course of history; Therefore, it has been a region portrayed using stereotypes through the course of time. Dating back to Local Color Fiction, Appalachia has been a target for mass media, largely due to the fascination with Appalachian stereotypes and generalizations. Though all stereotypes hide some layer of truth, nobody should be negatively affected by the behavior of others who happen to live in the same area and look like them. Big television networks play on these stereotypes and use them to their advantage. The question at hand is if this type of “reality” television is something that can stand the test of time as we move forward as a more progressive society.

https://soundcloud.com/thrillamanila22/appalchian-party

--

--