How I Scored a $50K Freelance Project

Yes, it’s possible. Here’s how I did it.

Felicia C. Sullivan
Falling Into Freelancing

--

That’s me! Snapped by Gillian Crosson

Just because you’re good at something doesn’t mean you need to be doing that something.

Six years ago, I resigned from a job that had been slowly killing me. Mine was a generation that didn’t understand the concept of freelancing. We were reared to believe that success meant shackling yourself to a corporate desk for a decade. Handing over your spleen during your annual performance review. Sure, you were likely to slip and fall off that ladder. Sure, you had to deal with incompetent idiots who made twice your salary for doing half the work. But we were told it was worth it. We were promised some vague, unattainable reward.

I was 37, and a friend ten years my junior convinced me to go out on my own.

When I first started consulting, I was the woman who could do anything. Here were my cape and bag of tricks. Do you want a social media strategy? I got you. Want me to launch your influencer marketing program? No problem. Want me to restructure your entire region’s marketing department? OF COURSE, I CAN.

You name it, I did it. When I first graduated from college, I decided to design my career from a place of curiosity. So for two decades, I focused on building a portfolio career. Each role taught me a critical…

--

--

Felicia C. Sullivan
Falling Into Freelancing

Marketing Exec/Author. I build brands & tell stories. Hire me: t.ly/bEnd7 My Substack: https://feliciacsullivan.substack.com/ Brand & Content eBooks: t.ly/ZP5v