How One Side Hustle Changed My Life

If you’re looking for a get rich quick scheme, read the other 29,000 articles on this platform. This ain’t it.

Felicia C. Sullivan
Falling Into Freelancing

--

Licensed from Adobe Stock // Yuriy Shevtsov

When you hear the words “side hustle,” you think of streams and schemes, cash money millions, online courses, MLMs, and articles containing ten steps to financial security. Who could blame you? Our culture rewards the ouroboros-level cycle of creation and consumption. We are the machines that make the products that make the money.

If you’re looking for a one-way ticket to passive income, stop now and click over to the thousands of how-to articles penned by folks who blindly glorify overwork, greed, and a hustle culture that is steeped in privilege and ableism. If I could burn the term side hustle to the ground and feast on its ashes, trust me, I would. Instead, I like to think of side hustles as the way I was able to shift careers, explore my curiosity, and flee jobs that wrecked havoc on my self-esteem, mental and physical health.

Before we knew of the term everyone can’t stop writing about, people pursued side jobs, hobbies, and projects as a means of not just for quick cash, but also for career diversity and personal fulfillment. Like life partners, it’s rare that our jobs are our everything.

--

--

Felicia C. Sullivan
Falling Into Freelancing

Marketing Exec/Author. I build brands & tell stories. Hire me: t.ly/bEnd7 My Substack: https://feliciacsullivan.substack.com/ Brand & Content eBooks: t.ly/ZP5v