Startups & kids are the same kind

When you compare startups and kids, there are many similarities. F*ck, there are so many similarities I think we should rebrand “parents” into “founders”.

Bruno Blumenschein
4 min readJan 4, 2014

I am writing this text with medical protective mask on my face. Reason? I have herpes in development and apparently that’s no good for 1-month-old.

(after 45 minutes)

I’m writing again. Vid wasn’t in the mood to sleep, Ivana (Vid’s Mom) is tired so taaaa-raaaaa-taaaa-taaaa, Dad jumped in.

Where was I? Oh, yeah. While I look pretty ridiculous, my son is sleeping next to me and I’m replying to colleagues in two projects, with one e-mail saying ”Vid is sleeping next to me, I’ll call you later”. That’s reality of StartupDadz. Don’t feel bad about that, there are more of us…

When you compare startups & kids, there are many similarities. Look at only couple of them:

Whenever you have them, you won’t be ready

Majority of men will never hear their inner voice saying: “Now you are ready to be a father. Go and make yourself a child”. Even if you do, no matter how many books you read, you won’t be ready for all situations life will throw at you.

Before Vid was born I read three books. We finished childbirth class. We learned how to breath during labor. Guess what? When we found ourselves in delivery room, everything we learned vanished into thin air.

It’s the same with startups. No matter how many webinars you attend, blogs you follow, founders you speak with, it won’t give you even a clue of what is like to have your own company.

Go out there (no, don’t make yourself a child) and start a project you are passionate about.

You’ll make errors. And then some

That brings me to the next similarity between startups & kids. You will learn mostly on your own errors. I know I did. Last week I sat down with a fellow founder and talked mainly about “If you could go back in time, what would you do differently?”.

I wouldn’t take myself as a prototype of a client. Yeah, I have significant experience in industry Sport In Time is in (media companies & sport), but others’ opinions and way of looking on business is called “other” with a reason.

I wouldn’t run for clients just to have one, but would look for revenues. Show me the money!

“Don’t break the baby”, was one of the “supporting” messages I got after Vid was born. Well, I’ll try. And I’m still trying. So far so good. But, I brought water that was way too cold for his baby ass. Often I don’t come running as fast as my wife thinks I should. Etc, etc.

But, he is still fine and I’m learning and trying my best every day.

Forecasts are really useless

One of my favourite motivation video is Everybody’s Free (To Wear Sunscreen). It has line that greatly explains how good financial forecasts are for startups or future forecasts/wishes for kids are.

“Don’t worry about the future; or worry, but know that worrying is as effective as trying to solve an algebra equation by chewing bubblegum.”

Almost every investor I spoke with admits that financial forecasts are important for him to see how the founding team thinks but the numbers (after appx. month No.6) are accurate as trying to remember number of bubblegums you ate in your life.

Do you want your child to be a doctor? Developer? Basketball player? Whatever you want, you’ll probably miss. Baby will pivot. Probably will your startup too. Don’t give yourself a hard time. That’s life. Enjoy the ride

Founders and parents are not similar. They are the same

One of the best things startup incubators can teach founders is to accept critics as a free advice. Pat on the back won’t help you. It will tuck you in a fake comfort blanket and will lead you toward the cliff.

How many founders did you talk to and after three sentences realised they don’t want your opinion. They want your sweet talk.

“My little John, he is the best child in the world. He is sooo smart. He draws beautifully and also knows how to count to 10.”, standard parents’ “pitch” about their kid.

Fifteen years later, when little John comes home drunk, his “founder” will be shocked. “But how? He was so smart!”

Name matters

If you name your son Adolf, he won’t have same life path as your other son — Patrick. Similar to that, if you name your company Plumbing, Inc. you’ll have tough time in consulting business.

If you try and think about people you first met last week, there is greater chance you’ll remember guy with a name you find cool than call a lady named Shrek.

Brand and visual identity are most of the time first information someone gets about your company. Try hard to have worldclass quality. It will be easier.

What do you think about similarities? Agreeing on all of them or have different opinions?

--

--

Bruno Blumenschein

Entrepreneur, Founder Institute grad, sports freak, in love with life, memento mori, scorpio, always looking ahead