Working with Families

K Fillmore
Family + Community Relationships
2 min readFeb 11, 2021

Knowing how different members of the family are affected can help us best help them and make a plan moving forward. It’s important to get as much information as possible in order to best assist the family. Be prepared for anything that could be thrown your way, or the family’s way.

When writing Part A of our family, I learned that there is always a lot more going on behind the doors of a house than anyone knows. One of the hardest things we had to do was figure out how each child interacts with each other. My group gave our family 3 kids and the youngest child being the one with the disability. The oldest is only 7 and their youngest is 9-months.

We also are challenging ourselves because the disability we are giving our family is cerebral palsy. One of the hardest things about this disability is that it can’t be diagnosed until a child is about 2 years of age. With the youngest being 9 months and having the disability, we’ve had to do research on how cerebral palsy can begin to manifest itself in a baby.

I have an uncle with cerebral palsy and I’m learning things I never knew. All I had known was that there was some birth complications with my grandma, but there is so much more to cerebral palsy than that. There are many reasons the disability could appear due to the pregnancy, the birth, or even not long after birth.

If you want to know more, comment below and I’ll respond when I can!

--

--