(First in a Pair)

Focus on Your Child’s Strengths

The idea of “Islands of Competence”

Joya Powers
Family Matters
Published in
3 min readSep 24, 2020

--

Numerous circular islands in a vast sea of blue water, with a light blue sky and wispy white clouds above
Photo by Shaah Shahidh on Unsplash

Thoughts from my former self: I am the mother of an adopted daughter who experienced trauma as an infant. I originally wrote this article in 2016. Since then, I have continued to learn and grow. Updated insight are contained in

Deficit-Driven Systems

Have you ever noticed how the systems set up to support special needs children are deficit-driven? Mental health diagnoses, IEP goals, therapy goals — they all focus upon what the child doesn’t do well enough, or does too much, or doesn’t do enough, or must learn.

The focus is always on what needs to change.

Identifying possible improvements and helping the child work toward a better life is what loving, responsible parents do. But when a child has complex special needs, parents may become bombarded from well-meaning professionals and educators, as well as from their own desires and expectations. The message? “Work on this, work on this, and also work on…

--

--

Joya Powers
Family Matters

I realized I am living the life of my wildest dreams from years gone by. Now what? I know, write about it! Mother of special needs child→life+spiritual lessons.