Home Sweet Home Newsletter June 2020

Laura Fox
Family Matters
Published in
Sent as a

Newsletter

3 min readJun 1, 2020
Image from rawpixel.com

Hello

We hope you and your family are keeping safe during this time. There has been some wonderful content from our very talented writers on family life during COVID-19. Thank you to all of you for making people feel less alone during what can be an incredibly lonely time.

June’s Writing Prompt

The details for June’s writing prompt can be found here.

If you are already a writer for Home Sweet Home, submit your entry and use the tag “prompt”.

If you are not a writer for Home Sweet Home you need to request to be added as a writer. Send a draft of your prompt entry to laurafoxwriter@gmail.com.

What’s New?

We have a lot of new writers for Home Sweet Home. This is very exciting! Many are new to Medium and could use our support to build their followers and readership.

I have created a Home Sweet Home Facebook Group where we can support each other. I plan on creating posts with useful tips if you are a new writer as I get a lot of questions from people who are new to Medium. I think it would be great if we could share our knowledge with each other on how to increase your chances of curation, how to make a good title and subtitle, and help each other promote articles. I want all of us to succeed at Medium.

Reminders

Running Home Sweet Home is not my full-time job. I do not get paid for being an editor. I have a young baby to look after, a day job, and I also write for Medium. This means that I cannot review submission straight away.

If you email me with a request to be added as a writer, please allow up to seven days for me to review your draft.

If you are already a writer and submit your work directly to Home Sweet Home, please allow 48 hours for your submission to be reviewed.

I will try my best to review your work as quickly as I can. I will also leave notes with suggestions for your piece. I want to help everyone stand a good chance of getting curated and having their work read and clapped by as many people as possible. I genuinely want you all to do well so my notes are intended to be helpful hints.

If you consistently publish work that is to a high standard, I will add you as an editor so you can self-publish without me reviewing your work. However, if your editor privilege is abused I will add you as a writer again. Please do not submit work that is not appropriate for Home Sweet Home. Your work needs to be about parenting and/or family.

Thank you for being understanding and helping Home Sweet Home to grow as a publication.

Promotions

Every month I will promote pieces that have stood out. This month’s stand out pieces are:

How to Take a Day off As A Full-Time Stay-At-Home Parent by Caithlin Palfrey

Covid-19 Is A Blessing For My ADHD Child by aimeepalooza

You Have to Let Your Children Fall Down Sometimes by Ashley Shannon

‘Feeling Bad’ Is A Hard Pill To Swallow by Taylor Carr

5 Self-Care Parent Tips That Are Realistic by Allison Ditmer

Why I Love Being a Mother of One and Refuse to Feel Guilty About it by Jesenia Maria

Teaching Children to Understand Unhappy Endings by Hailey Amick

What is Success Anyway? I Just Want My Children to Be Kind by Amanda Clark-Rudolph

Reading to Kids: Bridging the ‘Million Word Gap’ by Darcy Reeder

Quarantine is Crushing My Extroverted Child by Lily Latson

Some Parenting Days are Countdowns by Melissa-Jane Nguyen

Parenting Quote of the Month

“Children learn more from what you are than what you teach.”

Have a good rest of the month.

Laura x

--

--

Laura Fox
Family Matters

I write to heal myself and others. Instagram: @laure_e_fox_