How Holding On To Your “Why” Can Push Back The Dark Moments Of Parenthood

Sometimes the long dark nights just need a little extra light.

ADEOLA SHEEHY-ADEKALE
Family Matters

--

Image from author.

Parenthood often feels like climbing Mount Everest in the dark. I wonder if I’ve made it harder on myself by having four and then choosing to home educate them all, but in all honesty, I think this is the nature of motherhood.

You do your research and make your plans, running through every possible scenario as you choose the pathway that you’ll take. But you have no idea what will happen once you set off. You can’t predict the variables, the weather, the other people in your group, you can’t even be 100% sure how your body will cope.

You pack a bag. You think you have all the essentials but what really weighs you down are the expectations buried at the bottom.

Then you realize you have to climb in the dark because really this has never been done before. There is no family exactly like yours, who will encounter the same terrain and conditions. You’re on your own. At least that’s what it feels like late at night when the house is finally quiet, and I feel the pressure of responsibility pressing down on my chest. Four lives, each completely unique, but all in my hands. My job is to keep them safe, help them grow inwardly as well as out, and…

--

--

ADEOLA SHEEHY-ADEKALE
Family Matters

Writing on female experience, race, motherhood & self-development. Columnist at Green Parent magazine & Parenting Top Writer. Follow me on IG @adeola_moonsong.