How Playing Video Games Gave Us More Than Entertainment

The benefits have been surprising

Allison Ditmer
Family Matters

--

Photo by Sara Kurfeß on Unsplash

My 5-year-old son is getting smarter trying to locate presents. Instead of hiding things in my closet for Christmas, I had to tuck them away in corners of the basement behind boxes this year.

One afternoon trying to locate new hiding spots, the game system was something I stumbled upon. I wasn’t supposed to find it. Truthfully, I can’t say I was overly happy when I saw what it was. It was obvious my husband had made the purchase.

Nintendo Switch was something my son saw on YouTube. It was all my husband and I heard about for months. My concern was over the cost and if he was too young to start getting immersed in video games. If it was something he wanted for his 6th birthday, maybe I would reconsider.

I saw expense, hours of sitting, and more time sucked into a screen. Was it a bad parenting choice giving in? Would this be something good for our child?

After months of playing video games, the benefits have been surprising.

We are building relationships.

I have been concerned about the fact my kids haven’t been around extended family or friends in these winter months. Colder temperatures have prevented getting together…

--

--

Allison Ditmer
Family Matters

Writer, Freelancer, & Organic Traffic Advocate / I like to write about my freelance life and work-life blend. Contact me: allison@allisonditmer.com