How To Sleep Train Toddlers Successfully Without Losing Your Mind

What about doing two at once?

Mary DeVries
Family Matters

--

Photo by Daniel o'dowd on Unsplash

Training one small child to fall asleep in a timely fashion is challenging enough but how about two? Now put them in the same bedroom with vastly different bedtime preferences, throw in a pregnant mom and a frequently traveling for work dad and you have the perfect storm of desperate need coupled with a high difficulty level.

I made it through alive and eventually well rested and you can too.

My eldest struggled to fall asleep on her own from birth. We moved her to a toddler bed at 18 months because child number two was arriving soon. Each night I would lower my heavily pregnant body down on the floor next to her bed and read book after book to her until she fell asleep.

I had tried other approaches but this was the fastest, most efficient method. Thankfully, there is little I enjoy more in this entire world than reading to a child. I’m even okay with reading the same book over and over if it is a good one.

Pro-tip for new parents: buy books that delight you to read. If someone gifts your small child a book you don’t like, hide it or donate it. Seriously, this is your mental health at stake.

--

--

Mary DeVries
Family Matters

The older I get, the less I know. That won’t stop me from writing about everything and anything under the sun. Join me in delighting and despairing about life.