It’s Time to Stop Projecting My Fears on My Son With ADHD

He needs to struggle in order to thrive.

Adrienne Parkhurst
Family Matters

--

Picture of smiling woman nuzzling noses with a young boy.
Photo by Bruno Nascimento on Unsplash

I hum when I’m nervous. I’ve lived with this quirk for 40 years. I never received treatment for the condition, so I’m not sure what it is or what causes it. But, from my limited research, it’s a simple vocal tic.

According to my family, I started subconsciously humming around the age of five. It sounds like a quick and quiet “Ummm.” Today, most people don’t notice it. As a child, it pervaded my conversations.

As you can imagine, the other kids laughed at me, imitated me, and called me weird. Eventually, I learned to ignore the mean-spirited remarks. My ability to overcome this odd vocal tic made me more resilient, and despite this life-long nervous habit, I succeeded in school, work, and relationships.

My kids need opportunities to become resilient.

Dealing with my nervous habit shaped me into the person I am today. Harsh criticism, failures, and rejection still hurt, but I’m able to bounce back pretty quickly.

I want my children to be strong and resilient too. But, this requires them to overcome their own adversities.

In Brene’ Brown’s book, Daring Greatly — How the Courage to Be Vulnerable

--

--

Adrienne Parkhurst
Family Matters

Mom. Wife. Writer. Editor. Healthcare Freelance Writer. Lifetime Learner. Flawed Leader. Sharing my life lessons through personal essays and memoirs.