My Counsellor Predicted My Mom Would Ruin My Wedding Day

I didn’t want to believe that it could be true.

Laura Fox
Family Matters

--

Photo by Dimitri Kuliuk from Pexels

“Why do you feel you need counselling?”

This was the question I had been dreading. How do you put into words how much pain you are in? And how do you express it in a way that someone else can understand when you don’t even fully understand these feelings yourself?

I took a deep breath and forced myself to be brave. I explained that I was experiencing a lot of stress during a time where a lot of life changes were occurring. I was starting a new job and getting married. The added stress was making me feel close to a mental health relapse.

The counsellor gently prompted me to elaborate on what I meant by stress. About fifteen minutes must have gone by when I realised all I had talked about was my mother. Until that point, I had no idea that was why I felt so stressed. I had assumed I was fragile and not built for managing real life.

“Who told you that you’re fragile?”

The words fell out of my mouth before I couldn’t stop myself.

“My mom.”

I spent the entire session saying things I had always known deep down to be true. When you love someone…

--

--

Laura Fox
Family Matters

I write to heal myself and others. Instagram: @laure_e_fox_