On the Couple Who Told Me Breastfeeding my Baby is Disgusting

Breastfeeding is normal and you are the one’s who should be ashamed

Mari Sherret
Family Matters

--

Photo by Ksenia Makagonova on Unsplash

Breastfeeding is a normal unremarkable act that women do everyday to feed their babies. At least it should be.

I am unsure whether I should publish this article because it only serves to perpetuate the myth that breastfeeding in public is a “thing”. So I will start with the positive. The only comments I had received when breastfeeding in public places before this incident were:

  • On holiday with a four month old at a bus stop an elderly lady said (in translation), ‘a breastfeeding baby is the most beautiful thing in the world’
  • A mum saying to her two or three year old son, ‘look, that baby is getting his milk”

Apart from that no-one has ever said anything. (Except possibly a guy walking a dog who muttered something at me when I was breastfeeding sat on a tree stump during lockdown, but as I didn’t actually hear what he said I have no idea whether it was positive or neutral or anything to do with breastfeeding).

Most of the time I expect no-one notices when I breastfeed.

The Incident

--

--