The Great American Homeschooling Experiment

Social distancing provides unexpected learning opportunities.

Melissa Miles McCarter
Family Matters
Published in
7 min readApr 4, 2020

--

Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

My sister is an administrator of a charter school and is now unexpectedly home with my two nephews. This is due to our need for social distancing so we can flatten the Covid-19 curve. She sent me pictures of her boys interacting with their classes on the video conferencing program Zoom. It made think about the challenges posed by the their transition from school to school-at-home.

My nephews are interacting with their classes online. (Photos by Melinda Guillory)

Like millions of other families in the United States, they’ve essentially become participants in a national homeschooling experiment.

As a parent of a four year old who I plan to homeschool, I’ve researched a lot about homeschooling. I know that, when children transition into schooling at home, they have to go through a “deschooling” period. This is because, no matter how much you try to mimic the school environment at home, homeschool is not like structured classroom experiences most are familiar with.

--

--