This Simple Headline Game Is a Fun Way to Teach Your Kids About Media Bias

Do you want to play the good guy or the bad guy?

Kasey Q. Tross
Family Matters

--

Photo by Benoît Vrins on Unsplash

I started homeschooling before homeschooling was cool, and I realized early on what a prime opportunity– and responsibility– I had to teach my kids to be more street smart when it comes to the ultra-connected world we live in.

Everyone is looking to make a buck by swaying someone’s opinion in their favor, and without the ability to read between the lines, our kids don’t stand a chance. The rip current of popular opinion will pull them out into a sea of confusion faster than my teenage daughter can put a crack her phone screen (again).

So I decided to clue my kids in to media bias. First, I gave them a crash course in understanding media bias– what it is, how to spot it, and why it occurs– and then I taught them what I like to call “The Headline Game.”

Media Bias Clue #1: Word Choice

I started our media bias education by sharing the following scenario:

Let’s say Anna was goofing off in the pool and she tore a hole in the side. If you were really mad at her for tearing a hole in the pool, you might say, “Anna was thrashing around and she ripped a huge gash in the pool!” But if you felt really

--

--

Kasey Q. Tross
Family Matters

Musings on motherhood, writing, life, and relationships– and the struggle to stay sane through it all.