Tips and Strategies for Online School

Keep Calm and Learn On!

LJ Black
Family Matters

--

Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Moms and Dads of America — I hear you. This school year is going to be SO different from anything we’ve ever experienced before. Most likely the effects of the pandemic will linger far into our foreseeable future, and I share your anguish. Since whinging about it doesn’t solve anything (or at least, this is what we tell our kids), let’s just plunge right ahead into this and figure this out now. Maybe you’ll have some fixes of your own that you can pass along as we go into this coming year.

I’m a work from home parent with two 7th graders facing the online school year. In the lead up to this school year, I’ve heard it all from other parents too.

How will my kids stay focused? How do I help them with COMMON CORE math?! How will my kid make friends? I don’t trust my kids to do the work! My own kids say they can’t do it!

Welp, not with those attitudes you won’t.

Repeat this daily: It’s not going to be forever. Just right now.

The pandemic can’t last forever, can it? Of course not! It will eventually pass, and while the how’s and the when’s are still being battled out everywhere from government buildings to screaming matches at the local grocery store, what I can safely…

--

--

LJ Black
Family Matters

Wife. Mother to an autistic son and an adopted daughter. Alpha female to my pack of dogs & lover of nature. Eagerly searching for that perfect Prosecco.