Today I Made The Coffee

Dealing with My Grief

LJ Black
Family Matters

--

Photo by Silas Baisch on Unsplash

Before I even got up today I knew this was going to be a tough day.

I got dressed and went about my morning routine just because. I fed the dogs, the cat, the fish, and turned my thoughts to my son, still sleeping in his room.

It’s only 8am, and it’s cold out. I usually lie in bed next to my boy and sing him awake with silly songs — my heart bursting to have him wake up laughing… but not today. Today I simply lay there next to him in silence, no song in my heart. He wakes up and hugs me. It’s like he already knows my mind is heavy. I hug him back and snuggle, the tears trying to push out of me. But I’m very good at denying them. I’ve had lots of practice by now.

With him awake, I go downstairs and wait for him. I pack his lunch with robotic movements. The very air feels heavy. I make his breakfast. He eats it in silence while I go brush my hair in my room.

Every step today feels heavier than the last. I tell myself I’m going to make it. I have to.

I get my boy out of the house and dropped him off at camp on time for the first time this week. But I don’t turn my car towards home.

Isn’t there some coffee shop I can go to? Somewhere I can slink into anonymity for a while…

--

--

LJ Black
Family Matters

Wife. Mother to an autistic son and an adopted daughter. Alpha female to my pack of dogs & lover of nature. Eagerly searching for that perfect Prosecco.