We Need to Talk About Postpartum Rage

The longer we stay silent, the longer mothers have to suffer in silence.

Laura Fox
Family Matters

--

Photo by Andrea Piacquadio from Pexels

I am very open about the fact I am recovering from postpartum depression. Although I feel anxious before I open up about my experiences, I can reassure myself that it’s very likely that I will be accepted. Awareness of maternal mental health has improved and there is even a World Maternal Mental Health Day that is acknowledged by many people on social media. Celebrity mothers, such as Stacey Solomon and Alanis Morrisette, have talked about their postpartum depression candidly and helped to reduce the stigma.

I am lucky to be living in a time where mental health problems are better understood. But I still feel there is a stigma with the uglier side of maternal mental illness. When people think of postpartum depression, the image of a mother crying will spring to mind. Even though some people may not feel sympathy due to their ignorance around mental health, generally people’s response is compassion and understanding. But when people think of a mother being angry and even shouting at her baby, people tend to respond with judgment rather than compassion and understanding.

“Anger seems like an emotion that’s not feminine, that’s not motherly, and no one talks about…

--

--

Laura Fox
Family Matters

I write to heal myself and others. Instagram: @laure_e_fox_