When Your Kid Moves Out, It’s Okay to Feel Loss

Just remember to embrace the pride you feel for them too.

MaryRose Denton
Family Matters

--

As I pulled out of the driveway, my eyes misted over and there was a physical catch in my throat. The car slowly moved out into the street and away from my daughter’s new apartment. Also away from my daughter.

If there is any song fitting enough to be the soundtrack to this moment it is “Slipping Through My Fingers” by Abba and from the Mama Mia soundtrack.

Slipping through my fingers all the time
I try to capture every minute
The feeling in it
Slipping through my fingers all the time
Do I really see what’s in her mind
Each time I think I’m close to knowing
She keeps on growing.

A bittersweet song for a melancholy moment where excitement, loss, fear, and love all get mixed together.

There have been several moments in my life that have prompted the need for a movie soundtrack. Maybe you have experienced this too? Music to be playing in the background of your life as a scene develops. Maybe you’re driving down an open highway, perhaps on a road trip somewhere.

I’ve opened the sun-roof to my Mini Cooper, allowing the wind to rush in, blowing through my hair while the Kinks sing “Sunny Afternoon.” Or maybe it’s more of a driving beat like the one…

--

--

MaryRose Denton
Family Matters

Writer/Speaker/Advocate, Come join me as I make a life by doing something with total love & pure soul. maryrosedentonwriter.com or maryrosedenton8@gmail.com.