Why Don’t YOU Get Off?

Parenting under the intolerant gaze and judgmental mutterings of ableism.

Kate Lynch
Family Matters

--

Close up of a baby’s crying blue eyes.
Image by Myriams-Fotos from Pixabay

“You’ve got to think about the big things while you’re doing small things, so that all the small things go in the right direction.”
- Alvin Toffler

Soothing Lullaby

Did you know that Twinkle Twinkle Little Star has 5 verses? Yup, and I learned them all. On the bus home from the food coop that day, I was humming them softly, under my breath.

I continued to hum the same tune the entire bus ride. I was hoping my high strung baby would stay relatively soothed in his carrier as I navigated groceries and the unsettling gaze of our fellow riders. The humming was monotonous, but it kept us both calm. For everyone on that bus, I sang under my breath again and again, all the way home. I knew from experience that it sounded better than the alternative — his screams.

It wasn’t really the incoming meltdown I feared, and tried to postpone. I knew he would recover from overwhelm, and sometimes errands have to get done. It was the judgmental scowls, “advice” and crooked eyebrows as a result of the meltdown that I dreaded. They all came anyway, eventually, but that day on the bus, I got…

--

--

Kate Lynch
Family Matters

Mindfulness & yoga for parents of neurodivergent kids. Upcoming book: Atypical Kids, Mindful Parents. Subscribe to connect! healthyhappyyoga.com