Yes, You Are More Than Just a Mom- No, You Shouldn’t Feel Guilty.

Why Self Care for Moms is So Important

Terin Benavente
Family Matters

--

(Photo Credit: Pixabay)

Not long ago, I had a critical and honest conversation with my mother. During this conversation, she mentioned several times how now, at the age of 61, she feels she missed out on certain parts of her life. As the eldest daughter, I not only must listen with an open heart but truly understand her as a friend and confidante. While this may seem easy for some, it has been hard to step out of my comfort zone and respond from two very different perspectives. Over time, this has been long over-due since her best friends in life (both her sister and mother passed away just eight years apart.)

Missed Opportunities & Why They Matter

During this conversation, my mother mentioned when we were little and how she often felt the weight of parenting on her shoulders and the internal struggle she always felt of deep regret. Of all, one stood out to her the most. How different would her life have been if she had believed in herself enough to pursue her interests and opportunities? What does that even mean exactly? I contemplated this statement for weeks. I knew life then was different, but I never understood how different. Women’s roles as a “good” wife and mother were to care for the home and children while…

--

--

Terin Benavente
Family Matters

Author of "Getting it Right..or Wrong: Inspirational Stories on Life, Family, Health, and Wellness. Available online now at Barnes and Noble and Amazon Kindle.