Your Child’s Leash May Have a Negative Impact on Them

Children are not dogs.

Brianna Bennett, M.A., M.F.A.
Family Matters

--

Photo licensed by Shutterstock // Yuganov Konstantin

I have worked in some form of customer service for the last eight years of my life. I was 17 when I got my first job at the local library, and 18 (almost 19) when I started working at an amusement park.

While I aged out of the first job, I stayed with the second one until I was 21. After that, I worked for a law office, a home improvement store, and now, at 26, a doctor’s office.

I’ve never been a parent.

Before this goes any further, I’ll just be blunt and say that. I comprehend that there are unique challenges and expectations that come with raising another human. I know that there are things about parenting that I won’t understand until I’m a mother myself.

That doesn’t mean I’m prohibited from having opinions about the decisions I’ve observed over the years.

Picture this: you’re at an amusement park for the day with your partner and two children. The older of the two is running ahead but you can still see him/her and your partner is not far off. The second child has an established tendency to wander off, so you got one of those cute backpacks that has a leash attached to it so that they can’t get away from you.

--

--