The Blurred Line Separating Memory and Melody

Ruth Pickens
Movement Through Melody
1 min readNov 25, 2018

I Go Back by Kenny Chesney is a roughly 4 minute song entirely devoted to the concept of music triggering emotions and memories. After he sings “every time I hear that song I go back” Chesney goes on to list and describe many different places and memories associated with adolescence and coming of age. “I go back to the feel of a fifty yard line, a blanket, a girl, some raspberry wine, wishin’ time would stop right in its tracks.” He pulls the listener in by provoking them to think of their own high school memories and in a way, taking them back in time. For some it transports the listener to a specific memory, such as a touchdown or first kiss, and for others it just brings them back to a different time in their life. It brings out the emotions connected to those experiences with an added sentimental element. When I hear this song it reminds me to make the most of my young years and, even though I do not think of a specific memory, it brings up the overall sweet feeling of countless hours spent with friends.

--

--