Unwell- Matchbox Twenty

Ruth Pickens
Movement Through Melody
1 min readDec 14, 2018

Unwell by matchbox twenty has been touching the hearts of many since it came out in 2002. It’s about embracing mental illness and reminding people that an illness does not make up the person. Many people related to this song. So much so that the comments section was filled with things like this.

“I’ve been fighting with depression my whole life and I think i’ve finally been able to admit it to myself, I’m 25 now, this song picks me up when I’m at my worst.” -Miguel Contreras

Many also related it to their childhood memories and how this related to their childhood friends or family.

“i remember my mom played this song alot when i was around 10 years old…she was a alcoholic and suffered from depression. when i was 11 she died from liver failure. i loved her dearly. i am now 22 and suffer from sever depression and socialanxity… i honestly dont know if i can take it much longer. but just like my mom i relate to this song and feel very close to her every time i hear it.” -Baron von poon slayer the 3rd

Throughout the comments another recurring theme was the contrast between music similar to Unwell and the songs of today. Many saying that current music is pointless, while old music brings them to tears time and time again.

“Wish I could turn back time where the kind of songs I heard every day when I turned the radio on. Music of today is rubbish.” -Janine Nelmida

--

--