A Mother’s View on the Disparity in Sentencing for Crack

FAMM Foundation
FAMM
Published in
3 min readApr 11, 2023
Bahiya Shakur

On March 20, 2023, Bahiya Shakur submitted testimony to the Missouri House Judiciary Committee in support of House Bill (HB) 1176, which would end the crack powder sentencing disparity in Missouri. Below is an edited version of her remarks. — FAMM

My name is Bahiya Shakur. In 1989 I was sentenced to 17 years and nine months in federal prison on a crack cocaine conspiracy. I had never been in trouble before and had no prior criminal history.

I spent time in several facilities, where I met women from all over the world. The one thing I noticed over and over is that African Americans for the most part were the ones who had multi-decade sentences, and those sentences were for crack cocaine.

There were women I met through this journey whose children were placed in orphanages, or were molested by people who were supposed to be caring for them. One woman’s 14-year-daughter died, and another’s ended up in federal prison before the mom was able to get out.

While I was in prison, my children went through many trials that I know of. Only they and GOD know all of it.

In the time that I was gone, there were missed slumber parties and birthdays and school plays and school trips. My sweet baby daughter never complained. Her only question always was, “Mom, when are you coming home?” My son Abdul was a terrific athlete — before prison I used to be so involved in his games. I missed so much. My mom took care of my kids while I was inside, and it took a hard toll on her.

What do children do who don’t have parents like I had to care for them? What do those children do when people who are caring for them mistreat them? How do they survive? What do they grow into when there’s nobody there to look after them day after day? When they have no clothes to wear? When they go through days hungry and dirty? What do they feel when they have to sleep in places where they don’t feel safe?

What will these children be like in 5, 10, or even 20 years? Where will they be? Is anyone studying that data?

I’ve been home now a long time, and I got some relief on my sentence from sentencing reform. I was also able to attend college classes during my incarceration, maintaining a 4.0 GPA. I worked for Unicor Prison Industries during the majority of my time. I taught beginner’s Arabic and Religion classes. These things helped me to get another two-year reduction in my sentence. I was freed after ten years in prison in 1998.

I’ve now been a licensed realtor for 21 years. My kids are doing pretty well. My family and I are making it. But I am so concerned about what is still happening in our community.

Please, remember the children affected by their parents’ overly harsh prison sentencing for crack cocaine. Pass House Bill 1176. It’s the right thing to do.

Please help FAMM work to reform crack sentencing in Missouri and across the United States.

--

--

FAMM Foundation
FAMM
Editor for

FAMM is a national nonpartisan advocacy organization that promotes fair and effective criminal justice policies.