Home From Prison: 5 Surprising Realities in a Changed World

FAMM Foundation
FAMM
Published in
3 min readApr 17, 2024
Anthony Jones at his first day on the job at the Illinois Prison Project

By Anthony Jones

After serving 30 years of a natural life sentence, receiving clemency and coming home from prison has been an eye-opening experience. The world has transformed in unimaginable ways since my departure, and adapting to these changes has been both surprising and challenging. Here are the five most striking aspects of my reentry into society after three decades of incarceration.

  1. Technology revolution. When I left, mobiles phones were the size of bricks and the internet was in its infancy. Now, smartphones are ubiquitous, and the internet has become an integral part of daily life. Social media platforms, online banking, and digital communication have reshaped how people connect and interact. Embracing these technological advancements has been overwhelming, but I am amazed at the convenience and possibilities they offer. I remember my first time at a grocery store attempting to use the self-checkout. I stood there for what seemed like hours until someone came behind me and I blurted out, “I don’t know how to use this. I just got out of prison.” I felt like I’d just arrived on another planet.
  2. Loss of loved ones. The heart-wrenching reality of returning to a world without some of my loved ones has been one of the most painful aspects of reintegration. Many family members and friends have passed away during my absence, and the grief of not being able to say goodbye has been profound. To come home and have my first holiday without my mother’s turkey and dressing isn’t the same. The absence of their presence has left a void that cannot be filled, and coming to terms with these losses has been an emotional journey.
  3. Disconnected society. Contrary to my expectations, I have been surprised by the sense of disconnection in today’s society. Despite the prevalence of social media and digital communication, genuine human connection seems to have deteriorated. People are engrossed in their virtual lives, and face-to-face interactions have become less frequent. The warmth and closeness of community that I remembered have been overshadowed by a sense of isolation and individualism. I have 521 Facebook friends, and I wouldn’t be able to call any of them over to my home for a nice chat and cup of coffee.
  4. Skyrocketing cost of living. The cost of living has soared since my time in prison. Rent, groceries, healthcare, and education have become considerably more expensive, making it challenging for many individuals and families to make ends meet. The nice suburban neighborhood that I once called home is unaffordable to me now. I had to make another place my home after 30 years in captivity. Navigating the financial landscape has been daunting, and I have been taken aback by the economic strain faced by so many in the community.
  5. Decimation of the community. Perhaps the most distressing realization has been about the impact of crime and incarceration on my community. Families have been torn apart, and the cycle of incarceration has perpetuated a sense of hopelessness. The destruction of the family unit and the prevalence of crime have left scars on the community, reshaping its fabric in ways that are difficult to comprehend. Rebuilding and healing the community will undoubtedly be a monumental task.

Inclusion and returning to society after a lengthy period of incarceration has been a journey filled with surprises and challenges. As I continue to navigate these challenges, I am filled with a renewed determination to contribute positively to my community and seek a path of healing and reconciliation. The road ahead is daunting, but I am committed to embracing the present and working toward a better future for myself and those around me.

You can read more about Anthony Jones’ story here. If you think that more people like Anthony deserve a second chance to come home and work to make their communities safer and stronger, join FAMM in the fight for reform.

--

--

FAMM Foundation
FAMM
Editor for

FAMM is a national nonpartisan advocacy organization that promotes fair and effective criminal justice policies.